Indiana Joan

Detoxing Or What?

Rate this topic

Almost exactly what happened to me. I was a couple of weeks into being g.f. when I began to feel as run-down-exhausted as with a bad flu, only without the body aches and fever. For several days I could barely walk from room to room....it was more like dragging myself! :lol: So of course I jumped right on here to ask what you're asking, and everyone was saying it's a pretty common symptom of detox. Then when I had my follow-up with my doc a couple of weeks later, she said the same thing. By that time I was better. So hang in there as the saying goes, "This too, shall pass!"

Btw, it's good to have yet another newbie here! And I love your avatar.

i've been free of gluten and casien/dairy for about the same amount of time; a little over a month, and have days where i feel very run down, sometimes very on edge and irritable, (nothing new), interspersed with feeling much better than i have in a long time.

I was recommended the book The Gluten Effect by dr.s Petersen and was shocked to learn that when you are gluten-sensitive, the blood flow to your brain is reduced when gluten is in your system. Then when you eliminate the exposure to gluten the blood flow returns to normal, and increases, which actually stresses the brain, the tissue becomes even more damaged, not being acustomed to the higher blood flow. slowly it becomes adjusted and the inflammation goes down, but it takes time. maybe this is what causes what people refer to as 'withdrawl'?

also, with gluten in your body, your hormones get totally out of whack, and then need time to regain thier natural balance in the lack of presence of gluten. also, this takes time to happen.

just thought this was interesting, and could explain how you can feel so crappy at times after cutting the gluten out.also a good reminder to stay patient and not give up when you feel like your'e getting no results at the moment.