Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

firefightersgal

Food Marked gluten-free

Recommended Posts

My husband bought some meat marinade that says it is gluten-free. However, the first ingredient is soy sauce. It doesn't specifically contain wheat, but it does contain caramel color. Would you steer clear of it, even though it states that it is gluten-free?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


No. Caramel color doesn't have to contain wheat. Neither does soy sauce. Most do, but it should be listed as wheat.


Rachelle 20dance.gif

Daughter diagnosed 1/06 bloodwork and biopsy
-gluten-free since 1/06

Son tested negative-bloodwork (8/07), intestinal issues prompted biospy (3/08), results negative, but very positive dietary response, Dr. diagnosed Celiac disease (3/8)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would use it. What kind did he get? I'm looking for stuff like that. I have been using Worchestshire sauce, garlic & black pepper & its tasty.


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Caramel color is not a concern, at least in North America. It's one of those old myths that refuses to die.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites