This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Trying To Make Sense Of These Symptoms, Please Help!

ferb

ferb Newbie

I am a 32 year old male. I am 6

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Harpgirl Explorer

I'm relatively new at this, but honestly, I would try gluten-free for a while to see what happens. The digestive issues and joint pain seem to fit, not sure about the rash though. It doesn't sound like DH because it's seasonal.

If you have gluten sensitivity, you simply have trouble digesting gluten. Celiac is autoimmune. Your body tries to attack the gluten and inadvertantly attacks itself as well make it more life threatening. The symptoms can be very similar so the distinction is fuzzy especially when you concider how common a false negative test is.

I hope that helps a little bit. :)

Harpgirl Explorer

Oh, and if you are going to try the diet, I would go for more than a couple of weeks. I found digestive relief right away, but for others (I think especially with the joint pain) it takes several months.

RollingAlong Explorer

You are not barking up the wrong tree. First, the doc should have run more than one test. There's a whole celiac panel. And get a copy of the results and post them here. You can read about the celiac panel here Open Original Shared Link

The Rheum can probably do this panel for you. Are there any autoimmune diseases in your family, like rheumatoid arthritis or ankylosing spondylitis?