Sira Raven

Lunch Ideas

Rate this topic

I was wondering if anyone has any good ideas of what I can pack for lunch that would be gluten free. I'm a graduate student, so I generally pack myself and lunch and eat it in the lab or the common room. We also have multiple lunch seminars a week, so I have to bring my own lunch to those as well. I have access to a microwave. At this point, though, all I can think of to bring is sandwiches, which I think will get boring pretty fast. I can buy Udi's buns and bread and I can make Elizabeth Barbone's bread/bun recipes, so that's not an issue - I'm just kind of stuck on variety. I usually just do deli meat/cheese/tomato sandwiches or nutella/banana sandwiches at this point, but I'm afraid of getting tired of them. Does anyone have any ideas on anything easy I can pack and eat in the lab for lunch?

I don't bother with the bread....I use crackers instead.

I make salad - chicken, etc. and eat it with crackers.

Cold cuts or leftover steak, chicken, etc.

Make a lasagna or other casserole and nuke it. Same with soups. Rice dishes reheat nicely.

I'll also just snack on nuts, fruits, veggies for lunch.

I'm struggling to find lunch ideas too. I was just diagnosed 3 weeks ago. Right now, my standard work lunches are:

-salads

-veggies & dip (Gluten-Free of course), plus nuts and yogurt or cottage cheese (for protein)

-left overs from dinner (which could be quinoa, etc)

-frozen burrito (there's one that's gluten-free, I think the brand is Amy's? It's good. Unless you're trying to go completely "unprocessed").

But, like you, I'm already getting tired of these and would love other ideas (it's hard for me because I'm also a vegetarian).