This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

What Test Should I Ask For

Guest flowermom6117

Guest flowermom6117

I will be taking my 4 yr old daughter to the G.I. doc for the first time soon. She is suspected of having celiac and her peds doc wants a biopsy done to confirm. I have read how a lot of the test come back negitive if the right ones are not run. I'm very new to all this no one in either side of our family has celiac. I would really like the right answer the first time.

Also, I beleave she may also have Lupus or R.A. because all of her symptoms are not explained by celiac alone. She has never been on a gluten free diet, I do not know if they will go away after she is. Should I have these test run now or should I wait to see what the results of a gluten free diet.

She has been ill fo a very long time and I really want answers for her sake. I plan to go gluten free even if the tests are negitive. She has already been diagnosed with being allergic to eggs, nuts, oats, wheat, peanuts, oranges, tomatoes, and bannanas.

How far do you push the doctors before you just give up and take matters into your own hads? And what are the best tests to ask for to get the correct results?

I thank everyone who answers my questions.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Guest flowermom6117

We were able to get into the G.I. doc the day he returned to his office. He ran all of her blood work and he biopsy is scheduled. Now we are playing the waiting game again.

spacemama Newbie