pippa

Fast Reactions To Gluten?

Rate this topic

I am totally new to any kind of forums..! So here goes..

I have just be advised to follow a gluten free diet, after a Colonoscopy and Gastroscopy

I have had bad health and going down hill for about 5 years. Since going gluten free I feel so much better, my IBS is nearly gone, feeling sick everytime I eat is gone, headaches gone,

heart palpitations gone, and so the list goes on.

I am Gluten Intolerant and have been gluten free for about 6 weeks now.

Went out for a meal and had 2 small onion (Indian) patties. I knew as soon as I bit into them that it had flour in it, but thought I would test out my new diet.

wow. next day in the toilet, sweating like mad, mouth full of sularva (sp) and feeling as if about to vomit. came out and was back in the toilet within 3 minutes to repeat the process, felt really wobbly but came right in about 10 minutes.

Then went to friends for tea they cooked a great chicken stirfry, about 20 minutes after finishing it I made a dash to the toilet and went through the same preformance as above, but what shocked my was the speed of the reaction. ( It turned out they used soy sauce in the stirfry)

I feel shocked, because when we dine out etc and I unwittingly eat a tiny bit of gluten I can't go and spend ages in their toilet, plus look like sh..t when I come out. This is crazy. I could live with a reaction the next day, but I now feel unsure about eating at cafe's etc.

I want to know if anyone else gets such a swift violent reaction, and how do you cope with the prospect of taking your own lunch everwhere.

I am missing 'normal' foods, but getting it together and feeling so much better

Look forward to hearing any coments

thanks pippa

I do. I rarely eat out, and I take my food most places.

It takes time to get used to it, but you will come to not miss "real food" so much.

It is just the straw we drew, and there are worse ones. You just have to accept it as your new way of life.