Jess and Drez

Self Diagnosed Newbie

Rate this topic

This is my first time posting in the forum, but Ive been reading your stories for weeks,seeing the same symptoms and concerns that I have. Had bloodtests and many drs visits and always came up with nothing. All of my symptoms started a yr ago after my son was born and drs always claimed my body is just healing and changing from childbirth and that I have IBS. I knew in my heart that "something" more just wasnt right, thats when I found out about celiac and just went thru the list checking off almost every symptom in the book. I then decided to go ahead and try a gluten-free diet for both me and my son. Its obviously working, Ive been accidentally glutened a couple times and all my symptoms came back again. My question though is should I have any kind of genetic testing done, for myself, my son or mother(who has been struggling for yrs with many of the same symptoms)? I feel good enough on a gluten-free diet to not feel the need for a biopsy or a dr to tell me I officially have it, but Im mainly concerned about my 1 yr old son and if this is something I could pass to him or future children. Thank you in advance for any help!

How long have you been gluten-free for?

You will need to go back on gluten for any test to be valid, and I usually hear at least 8 weeks on a normal gluten diet before testing. So the big question you need to answer is do you want the label bad enough to face all that again? Keep in mind, you could go through all of that and still get a false negative.

Celiac is genetic, so your child and mother might have it, or might not. If your mom is having symptoms she should ask her doctor about the blood test.

How long have you been gluten-free for?