AngieJoy

Gluten & Skin Products/drugs

Rate this topic

Hi folks - I have to be super careful with my diet, but do we have to also be careful about what goes on the skin?

Most important on my list - I'm wondering about the Flector patch - it's an anti-inflammatory drug. I'm unable to handle oral anti-inflammatory drugs because of allergy and stomach sensitivity, but I used to use the Flector patches before starting on the gluten free diet. I have a sprained knee and would like to use it again. Do I have to call the company and check for gluten in a patch that's absorbed by the skin?

I'm also wondering about my moisturizer.

And something less important - lipstick. I have lots of clinique lipsticks but I'm concerned about using them as I'm likely to ingest some. Does anyone know of some fragrance free lipsticks that are gluten free?

Thanks!!!!

I'm no doctor but I would think the patch would be safe as long as you scrub your hands after touching it. Lotions are a different story though. If you use it, even on body parts that are not your hands, you may get it on your hands just by touching or scratching these body parts, then forget to wash your hands before popping something in your mouth.

Lipstick? Someone here said NYC (New York Color) was gluten-free. It's dirt cheap at Family Dollar and other stores, and while it's not the greatest lipstick in the world, it works and is safe.

Hi,I have the same question :) . Only I know for sure gluten in cosmetics cause me problems (rashes,pustules,itchy scaly patches around the hair line).

I tried Burts'n'Bees. I tested their lip shimmer,everything is OK. Some moisturizers should be OK,too. It's said gluten-free in their site.

Actually,when I have skin rashes,the oil based creams work better for me. I try to avoid water based,they make the problem worse. The gluten rashes can be absolutely neverending if treated as acne (it's not the same thou it looks alike).