Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter
  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Scott Adams

    Alcohol Trade Group Seeks Gluten-Free Labels for All Distilled Beverages

    Scott Adams
    3 3
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      After FDA rules all distilled alcohol gluten-free, Distilled Spirits Council lobbies Tax and Trade Bureau for similar ruling.


    Image: CC BY-SA 4.0--Thechadwix
    Caption: Image: CC BY-SA 4.0--Thechadwix

    09/01/2020 - Fresh from an FDA ruling that distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as “gluten-free,” the Distilled Spirits Council (DISCUS), the trade body for America’s spirits, is now pressing the U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) change their policies to align the the FDA, and to permit all distilled products to be labeled as "Gluten-Free." 

    The FDA's new ruling says that the distillation process removes all gluten from the finished product, even if the original ingredients contained gluten.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    The ruling is consistent with the advice of numerous allergy and nutrition groups, including Celiac.com, and the National Celiac Association, which state that distilled spirits, even those made from a gluten-containing grain, such as wheat, rye or barley, are gluten-free and should be considered safe for people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance.

    The FDA ruling helps to pave the way for for distilled foods and beverages made from gluten-containing grains to be labelled as “gluten-free.”

    However, a few regulatory hurdles remain. Chief among them, TTB policy currently states that some people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivities could become sick from spirits made from grains such as wheat.

    The TTB rule means that only spirits made from non-gluten-ingredients such as grapes, corn or potatoes, or products specially treated to remove gluten, may be labeled as gluten-free.

    DISCUS president, Chris Swonger, says the ruling will allow "gluten-free" labelling claims on distilled beverages made from gluten-containing grains. Swonger says that his organization is now urging TTB “to act quickly to revise their 2014 interim policy on gluten content statements to align with FDA’s final rule and begin allowing "gluten-free" statements on distilled spirits products made from gluten-containing grains.

    A change by the TTB, says Swonger, will permit a "Gluten-Free" label on distilled products made from gluten-containing grains, and will “provide additional clarity for consumers to make informed choices about which products meet their dietary needs.”

    These developments are big news for people with celiac disease who drink distilled beverages, and also for drinkers, in general, who will have more clarity.

    Edited by Scott Adams

    3 3

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    Oh my..I have celiac and have gotten sick drinking any vodka not triple distilled or more..and definitely from a grain (barley,wheat) base..and the flavored ones are a big problem..to add to this problem can we even trust the FDA anymore with the lobbists putting in so much money to politicians today and the FDA now bending to political will. and the advertising money to come from this open ruling to the sites like this.

    It looks like everyone needs to look out for themselves and not believe just a Gluten Free banner on a bottle or can..so sad

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    On 9/8/2020 at 5:54 AM, Guest Rosalia said:

    Oh my..I have celiac and have gotten sick drinking any vodka not triple distilled or more..and definitely from a grain (barley,wheat) base..and the flavored ones are a big problem..to add to this problem can we even trust the FDA anymore with the lobbists putting in so much money to politicians today and the FDA now bending to political will. and the advertising money to come from this open ruling to the sites like this.

    It looks like everyone needs to look out for themselves and not believe just a Gluten Free banner on a bottle or can..so sad

    I concur, just the smell of most liquor makes me ill, and trust is a major issue at this time.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    If the smell of liquor makes you ill, then you definitely have something else going on because: a) you can't get gluten in your system by smelling something; b) distillation removes all gluten. Can you drink liquor made from gluten-free ingredients, for example Smirnoff Vodka is made from corn?

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 02/22/2020 - We get a lot of questions about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. The safest answer is that alcohol that is brewed or distilled using no gluten ingredients and which is labeled gluten-free is the safest bet. That said, the actual answer is more complex. 
    According to the American Dietetic Association (ADA) all distilled spirits are gluten-free, that is, there is no gluten in the final product of any distilled alcohol. ADA guidelines indicate that all 100% distilled spirits are safe, including whiskey, bourbon and gin. 
    Also, some people with celiac disease claim to b...

    Leszek Jaszczak
    Celiac.com 04/15/2017 - Raw materials used by breweries include barley. A characteristic feature of this grain is the presence of gluten proteins which also includes hordein. This group of proteins are the trigger of celiac disease symptoms [Darewicz, Dziuba, Jaszczak: "Celiakia – aspekty molekularne, technologiczne, dietetyczne." PrzemysÅ‚ Spożywczy, styczeÅ„, 2011] . This issue raises the need to seek new methods of brewing that allow for the elimination of gluten proteins from the beer [swora E., Stankowiak-Kulpa H., Mazur M. 2009. Dieta bezglutenowa w chorobie trzewnej. Nowiny Lekarskie 78, 5-6, 324-329]. The biggest problem for coeliac patients is to ide...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/16/2019 - Here are some of the most common questions we get about gluten-free alcoholic beverages.
    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, under US labeling law, beverages made from ingredients containing wheat, rye, or barley, cannot be labeled or advertised as 'gluten-free.'So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process. You'll find an extensive list of gluten-free alcohol, booze and liquor here.
    Gluten Sensitivity Can Vary ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 08/19/2020 - The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has ruled that distilled foods and spirits made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as ‘gluten-free.’ The FDA ruling covers fermented and distilled foods, or foods that contain fermented or distilled ingredients, which are made using gluten-containing grains such as rye, barley and wheat. The ruling changes the previous FDA requirement that distilled products labeled "gluten-free" must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish.
    The change was hailed by Chris Swonger, president and CEO of the the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (Discus), who said: “W...