Celiac.com 11/12/2020 - We get more than a few questions about ketchup. Specifically, is ketchup gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease? The answer is that most all ketchup is made with tomato concentrate, distilled vinegar, sugar or corn syrup, salt, onion powder, spice, and natural flavors. All of these ingredients are naturally gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. That means the products are likely safe for people with celiac disease.
However, many brands, like Hunt's and others, do not specifically label their ketchup as gluten-free. Like many products that are naturally gluten-free, many manufacturers don't bother to test their products and label them gluten-free.
If you're looking for ketchup brands that are labeled gluten-free, here's a list of top brands of gluten-free ketchup.
As always, trust your gut, and when in doubt, look for certified gluten-free products. If you see ingredients you're not sure about, check Celiac.com's list of Safe Gluten-Free Foods and Ingredients, along with our list of Unsafe Forbidden Gluten Foods and Ingredients.