Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):




Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Scott Adams

    What Brands of Ketchup are Gluten-Free?

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      These brands of ketchup go the extra mile to make sure their products are labeled "Gluten-Free."


    ketchup, not catsup. Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--arvindgrover
    Caption: ketchup, not catsup. Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--arvindgrover

    Celiac.com 11/11/2020 - Most ketchups are made with naturally gluten-free ingredients. However, many brands do not label their ketchup as gluten-free. That's not necessarily a big deal, but some people like to play it safe.  These brands of ketchup go the extra mile to make sure their products are labeled "Gluten-Free." That means that you can breath extra easy about serving them to people with celiac disease.

    Top Brands of Gluten-Free Ketchup include:

    Annie's Organic Ketchup
    Annie's Organic Ketchup is gluten-free to 20 ppm, Certified organic, Vegan, Non-GMO, Made with California grown tomatoes, Contains no artificial flavors, colors or preservatives, and no high-fructose corn syrup. The company reports that the vinegar in Annie's Organic Ketchup is sourced from corn or beets, not wheat.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    French's Ketchup
    French's ketchup is gluten-free to under 20 ppm, and corn syrup-free, too. No corn syrup, preservatives, artificial colors or flavors. 

    Heinz Ketchup
    Heinz, which makes the most popular ketchup in the U.S., is considered gluten-free to 20 ppm. For those who are sensitive to vinegar made from gluten grains, Heinz uses distilled vinegar made from corn, not wheat, sources.

    Organicville Ketchup
    Organicville's ketchup is labeled gluten-free, certified organic, vegan and contains vinegar from either corn or cane.

    Walden Farms Ketchup
    According to the company's website, Walden Farms Ketchup contains "No calories, fat, carbs, gluten or sugars of any kind."  Walden Farms ketchup is made with tomato paste, apple cider and white distilled vinegar, spices, xanthan gum, and flavorings, and is labeled gluten-free.

    Sir Kensington’s Ketchup
    Sir Kensington's Ketchup is labeled gluten-free, and contains tomatoes, tomato paste, organic cane sugar, onions, distilled vinegar, water, salt, lime juice concentrate, green bell peppers, and allspice. Sir Kensington's claims its ketchup contains: "Less sugar, less salt, and only non-GMO ingredients. At last, progress—a ketchup that requires no apology."

    Have we missed a favorite brand of gluten-free ketchup? Share your thoughts below.

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/19/2019 - At Celiac.com, we get a lot of questions about which foods and products are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Sometimes the answers can be surprising. The list of foods that are gluten-free and safe, and the list of foods that contain gluten and are unsafe can be long and tricky. To help clarify, we've looked to our celiac disease and gluten-free forum for some popular foods and products that people might not know are gluten-free. As always, if you know about a surprisingly gluten-free food or product we've missed, be sure to let us know in the comments section below.
    Here are twenty-one foods that you...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/24/2020 - For people with celiac disease, and those who are gluten-free for other medical reasons, it can be a battle to get a good, reliable brand and flavor of gluten-free ice cream. True, most ice cream is made without gluten ingredients and may be gluten-safe, even if not labeled "Gluten-Free." However, the trouble starts with added ingredients, especially cookies, or cookie dough, among others. Be especially careful of any cookies or cookie dough ingredients.
    Just in time for summer, here are more than a hundred top gluten-free ice cream brands and flavors that are widely available at stores near you. Do you have a favorite ice ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 10/13/2020 - Peanuts are naturally gluten-free, and so are most peanut butter brands, unless they've got added gluten ingredients. However, many brands do not label their peanut butter as gluten-free, and many unlabeled peanut butters may be made on equipment that processes wheat, rye or barley. That's not necessarily a big deal, but some people like to play it safe. 
    These brands go the extra mile to make sure their peanut butters are labeled "Gluten-Free." That means that you can breath extra easy about serving them to people with celiac disease.
    Top Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Brands (Ingredient Label Includes "Gluten-Free")...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 11/12/2020 - We get more than a few questions about ketchup. Specifically, is ketchup gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease? The answer is that most all ketchup is made with tomato concentrate, distilled vinegar, sugar or corn syrup, salt, onion powder, spice, and natural flavors. All of these ingredients are naturally gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. That means the products are likely safe for people with celiac disease.
    However, many brands, like Hunt's and others, do not specifically label their ketchup as gluten-free. Like many products that are naturally gluten-free, many manufacturers don't bother...