DannyBoy90

Gluten Free But Still Minor Symptoms

Rate this topic

Hi all, 

This is my first time posting, so I dont know my way around the forum yet.

I have been back on gluten and dairy free for 2-3 days, after lasting two weeks, and my symptoms have reduced.

Flatulence, sorry (down 50%)

Burping (unchanged)

Frequent bowel movements (down 50%) (one or two a day, as opposed to three or four)

White coating on tongue (unchanged)

So overall, gluten free has helped but I still get symptoms eg gas, white tongue

Just wondering what this could be

PS: I get random bursts of gassyness, one time after I ate a mandarin, carrot and apple my stomach got really upset (strange because it's fruit and veg) and once after eating buckwheat pancakes and dark chocolate. I have also been working out a lot more than usual (weights)

Im trying to get rid of my white tongue for good, and the accompanying bad breath.

I am a little confused.  You have been gluten-free for 3 days? or 2 weeks?  Either way, it can take months, maybe years, to heal and get your system back to "normal" with Celiac disease.

Have you seen a dentist about the tongue?  That might require more than a gluten-free diet to clear up.

Yes, I was gluten-free for 2 weeks, went gluten for a few days, now im back to gluten-free.

Well... Like I said, it can take months or more for the Celiac damage to heal and everything to start working correctly. With Celiac, you must be gluten-free for life, not just 2 weeks and then take a few days off and then back at it again. Read the Newbie thread under " Coping" for some basic info to get you started.

https://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/91878-newbie-info-101/

Edited by kareng