This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New diagnosis for kiddo

Idaho mom

Idaho mom Newbie

Hi all.  I am new to this but was hoping I could reach out for some suggestions.  My 9 year old has just been diagnosed with non celiac and we are 3 weeks into this lifestyle change.  It is a challenge for our family to say the least but one I am truly hoping will lead to no more stomachaches, vomiting, headaches, fatigue, emotional roller coaster rides, etc etc.  Can any of you tell me the best apps or sites to determine what foods/ingredients are gluten free?  I think that is my biggest struggle right now - the words "spices" and "artificial or natural flavoring".  Also, can someone point me to good sites for kid and family friendly recipes that also taste good?  Thank you all for any help and support as we journey down this path.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

psawyer Proficient

"Spices" allows for a long list of possible things, but none of them are grains, so no gluten in that ingredient. Flavoring rarely contains gluten. By law, wheat would have to be disclosed. Barley malt is expensive, so the manufacturer will boast of it rather than hide it.

tessa25 Rising Star

Here's a list of my favorites so far:

Note: insert the words "gluten free" in every item mentioned as some of the companies also sell non gluten free stuff. It's tedious to write that phrase all the time.

Get a chest freezer to store all of your frozen gluten-free foods. Makes things easier.

Bread: Canyon bakehouse without question is the most realistic tasting bread.
  Schar comes in a close second.