This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Emotional Rollercoaster

jojoe72

jojoe72 Rookie

Quick question for you veterans. I'm still very new to this disease (only about 3 months into it) and was wondering about the mental aspect of this disease. I've been getting these days where my emotions are totally out of whak. One hour I can feel great then the next I feel painfully depressesd and then back to normal again. It scares the hell out of me. I don't think it's clinical depression or anxiety because it doesn't last all day. Also, it's not like this all the time and usually I can trace it back to a mistake on the diet. Is this normal? I've personally never been a believer in antidepressants and don't want to take that route. I've been taking magnesium (thanks thomas3000) and that seems to help. If anyone has experience with this I'd really appreciate hearing from you. Will it ever go away?

Joe

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

carriecraig Enthusiast

Yes, this also happens to me. I was really depressed before I was dx'd, and lashing out on my poor husband. It also happens when I've had a slip-up.

jerseyangel Proficient

I had anxiety and depression before I was DX. I had pretty much lost intrest in most things, especially those that included going out or being around people outside my immediate family. Both began to lift slowly after going gluten-free. I saw definate improvement during the 4th. month. Now, if I get glutened by accident, I get a bit short tempered and anxious. The difference is now I know that it will only last a few days or so.

jojoe72 Rookie