Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

VydorScope

Casein / Dairy ? What To Look For?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Okay, does bread, buns, etc usally have dairy in it? What does one look for when eating out, esply at a drive through kind of places? Ive gotten pretty good at spoting gluten traps, but still very unsure about all this dairy stuff!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, a lot of bread products have dairy in them. I know that Knickiknick and Celiac Specalties make casein free products, probably others too.... back to reading labels! I'd be surprised if you found a mainstream product made with wheat flour that was dairy free, but you never know.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Gluten Free Pantry makes a dairy free sandwich bread. I've not tried it yet--just ordered some. I also ordered their French Bread/Pizza Crust Mix--does not list any dairy in ingred. I'll let you know how they are as I try them. Would love to know how others who have tried them like them! Whole Foods Gluten Free Bakeshop breads have milk in them--because of that and the tapioca flour, I don't eat them anymore. I find that with dairy, just like for gluten, I have to read the labels. You never know where it will be lurking ;)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi VydorScope,

I am new to this message board, but def second Pattis' post. I've been casein intolerant since birth and it can be found lurking in so many foods, meds etc. Not sure about drive thoughs in the USA, because I live in Spain, but most hamburger buns, hot dog rolls, many of the sauces & also possibly the fries can also contain dairy. As for restaurants, you will need to avoid most sauces because so many contain either butter, cream or milk and also desserts.

Lisa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
As for restaurants, you will need to avoid most sauces because so many contain either butter, cream or milk and also desserts.

Lisa

Doh! Is there casein in butter? I totally did not know that....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...