This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Salad Spinner

Lister

Lister Rising Star

is it 100% nessasary to own a salad spinner if your using fresh heads of lettece? i started to buy heads of romain instead of the prebagged stuff and i wash it under cold water, like let the water run and shake it under the water then eat it.. is this enough? or does it require i use a spinner?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

jerseyangel Proficient

Lister--

A salad spinner is not something that's necessary at all. I've been cooking for over 30 years, and have never owned one :D

Washing the lettuce under cold, running water is fine--if you want the leaves drier, put them in your collander for a while.

tiffjake Enthusiast
Lister--

A salad spinner is not something that's necessary at all. I've been cooking for over 30 years, and have never owned one :D

Washing the lettuce under cold, running water is fine--if you want the leaves drier, put them in your collander for a while.

yeah, someone told me to put my lettuce in a salad spinner to clean it. I was like "why? it just spins it around, right??" :lol:

jenvan Collaborator

No, you don't have to have one. I would just pat dry the leaves with a paper towel so they aren't wet. In support of the salad spinner though... :D I LOVE mine. I eat salad every day for lunch. Sunday night I fill my salad spinner with lettuce, my veggies etc, and just pull out a handful each morning for my lunch. It keeps my salad fresh till the end of the week :)

jerseyangel Proficient