This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Symptoms

draeko

draeko Apprentice

Hi Everyone I am also new to Celiac disease. I am trying hard to get on the gluten free diet but I still am doing a few mistakes. My main concern was symptoms. right now I feel weak all over like my body wants to shut down .is this normal?

Thanks for all your help,

Draeko

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

sunshinen Apprentice

Yes. Absolutely normal. Your body was probably shutting down to begin with, and switching your diet so drastically can be a sort of shock. The good news is, you're going to feel great!! It may take some time, just stick with it. You'll get there.

Guest nini

most of us go through a period of "withdrawal" type symptoms and the feeling of your body shutting down is one of those. Hang in there, take care of yourself, make sure you are taking a good pro biotic with digestive enzymes, and a good gluten-free multi vitamin. Eat foods that are naturally gluten-free to start with, don't try anything fancy... give your body time to recover... if you haven't already seen my "newbie survival kit" click on the link below in my signature for my web page and scroll down to the link to download the "newbie survival kit" I hope it helps you!

jerseyangel Proficient
Hi Everyone I am also new to Celiac disease. I am trying hard to get on the gluten free diet but I still am doing a few mistakes. My main concern was symptoms. right now I feel weak all over like my body wants to shut down .is this normal?

Thanks for all your help,

Draeko

Hi Draeko, and welcome to the board!