This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

I Would Like Some Advice.

TBLKWL

TBLKWL Rookie

I have some questions. My daughter is 16 months old and she has been having D for the last 5-6 mo and we ran a Celiac panel and her tTg came back 3 pts high. We saw the GI last week and he was very nice and listened to me and loved all over both of my kids and in the end he days toddlers diarrhea. I was so stessed by the time he said that was her dx that I didnt even say anything. He did run stool samples to check for infection and all of that came back ok. But I thought the tTg was kinda a sure thing, am I wrong?? I am a nurse and the Dr that I work for (a GP) is really lost in the Celiac thing so he really cannot help me. Also in the last week she has started having more solid stools but they till look like she is having malabsorbtion. The GI wants me to push gluten and retest next month. I am pushing gluten , anything she wants, crackers, toast, cherrios, and she is hungry all of the time again and very fussy and tired. I think I just dont know what to do now, but if anyone understands any of this please help me. Thanks.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Nantzie Collaborator

Celiac is so difficult to diagnose that a lot of us here (more than half according to the latest poll here) end up with a diagnosis of "gluten intolerance" rather than celiac because of negative, borderline or inconclusive test results. The truth is that testing just isn't reliable. Period. If your daughter is doing better off gluten, then that's the most reliable test there is.