This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

I'm New To All Of This

Cat5

Cat5 Newbie

Hello,

This is my first post here so I hope I am doing this correctly and to the correct board.

I was diagnosed with Celiac disease about 3 months ago and being among the over middle age group this is quite a challenge as I am pre-pubescent to those Golden Years, life already presents enough challenges for us as it is without having to transition oneself off regular breads, cereals, pasta's, cookies, pies, cakes etc. But anyway that is what has been diagnosed and I do have to say that I have not felt this good in many years.

The sleepless nights, the headaches, the lethargy and fatigue, the joint aches and pains that I attributed to my getting older (some are still there and most likely are), the scaly skin that showed up in weird places like the bottom of my right leg near my ankle. I call it my Aligator Ankle...I guess that's the skin disorder that some have from this Celiac disease. I have it in other places too like the top of my right hand. I have one knuckle that is covered in a hard leathery scaley skin that cracks and I have to constantly moisturize my hands and the other areas that this Aligator skin has popped up. My ankle looks like a series of bubbles though, its strange looking to say the least.

Anyway, I have now learned that I even have to check the label of the hand creams to be sure they don't contain Gluten or something that could be harmful. So what I use now is Pure Organic Coconut Oil. It seems to be helping a bit.