Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter
0
lobita

Captain Morgan's

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Whether it is spiced or not isn't the issue for those of us that are gluten intolerant.  The fact that it's made from a mash containing gluten will make people that are intolerant sick.  Yes, the gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process.  However, the liquid that does pass through has been cross contaminated because it contained the gluten protein prior to distillation.  Any distilled alcohol made from wheat, rye, barley, a mash, etc., will make people that are truly intolerant to gluten sick.  Stick with alcohols that are distilled from corn, potato and rice.  They are safe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, mynxr said:

Whether it is spiced or not isn't the issue for those of us that are gluten intolerant.  The fact that it's made from a mash containing gluten will make people that are intolerant sick.  Yes, the gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process.  However, the liquid that does pass through has been cross contaminated because it contained the gluten protein prior to distillation.  Any distilled alcohol made from wheat, rye, barley, a mash, etc., will make people that are truly intolerant to gluten sick.  Stick with alcohols that are distilled from corn, potato and rice.  They are safe.

Isn’t it rum? Rum is not made from grain.

 

just looked it up- yep.  It’s rum and it’s made of sugar cane - no grain.  So I don’t even have to explain distillation . ?

Edited by kareng

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, mynxr said:

Whether it is spiced or not isn't the issue for those of us that are gluten intolerant.  The fact that it's made from a mash containing gluten will make people that are intolerant sick.  Yes, the gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process.  However, the liquid that does pass through has been cross contaminated because it contained the gluten protein prior to distillation.  Any distilled alcohol made from wheat, rye, barley, a mash, etc., will make people that are truly intolerant to gluten sick.  Stick with alcohols that are distilled from corn, potato and rice.  They are safe.

Morgans rum is made form molasses.....you know sugar cane....hell only liquor I keep around the house at all times....I can not even drink but I use it in cooking.


Diagnosed Issues
Celiac (Gluten Ataxia, and Villi Damage dia. 2014, Villi mostly healed on gluten-free diet 2017 confirmed by scope)
Ulcerative Colitis (Dia, 2017), ADHD, Bipolar, Asperger Syndrome (form of autism)
Allergies Corn, Whey
Sensitivities/Intolerances
Peanuts (resolved 2019), Cellulose Gel, Lactose, Soy, Yeast
Olives (Seems to have resolved or gone mostly away as of Jan, 2017), Sesame (Gone away as of June 2017, still slight Nausea)
Enzyme issues with digesting some foods I have to take Pancreatic Enzymes Since mine does not work right, additional food prep steps also
Low Tolerance for sugars and carbs (Glucose spikes and UC Flares)
Occupation Gluten Free Bakery, Paleo Based Chef/Food Catering

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay. I have been using this website as a resource for a long time and my need to share this story is what made me finally create an account. 

Last summer, I was having a bonfire with some friends. The person making the booze run picked up Captain "cause rum is made from sugar", right...? Being 21 for only about a month, this logic sounded good and i even did a quick google search, not looking very hard but the internet seemed to think Captain was safe. So i had MAYBE half a Captain and Coke..... What happened after this was the worst gluten-ing of my life. I couldn't leave the bathroom floor. I was falling in and out of consciousness. (I have a damaged nervous system.) I was so sick that my partner had to carry me around. We were in the woods, far away from everyone and they almost took me to the hospital. The whole night and next day, I couldn't keep down any food, my body just kept trying to purge itself. While I was asleep, my friends had searched and found the same vague vocabulary that people are discussing here.

It infuriates me that everytime someone offers me a drink, ( I work in a distillery and everyone I know is in the restaurant industry.) I have to consider whether it's worth risking going through all that again. -Something that could be fixed with literally one sentence- but very, VERY few alcohol companies are willing to put in plain language whether or not their product is safe for Celiacs. 

What I don't understand is, ....if your product isn't safe for me and you don't make that clear, on the bottle or website, etc. and I drink it .... you're losing a customer ANYWAY. I'm obviously never drinking Captain Morgan again. But, if you tell me straight away that it's not safe for me, I'm not going to buy your product for myself, but I at least trust you to be truthful and I know my friends can drink this, but I can't. But if you weasel around, I don't trust you at all. Period. 

Now, to be fair, the website (at least at the time) said basically there's a possibility for contamination and it's basically a bottle-by-bottle basis. So, this is not to say that everyone will react like this. But I had an unsafe bottle and it was not a good time.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0