Lisa S

Check Out These Reactions To Gluten Challenge

Rate this topic

Hey there all, I'm new to your wonderful forum.

I'm 37 and a Personal Trainer. I've been gluten free for 8 months, very strict. I could not afford the tests however, so I don't have a diagnosis etc... I just knew it was the only thing I hadn't tried and I had 2 friends who are celiac to follow. Amazing results. Left behind bloating, gas, burning, sharp pain, systemic inflammation, muscle/joint pain, endometriosis symptoms SOOOO suddenly better by 80%, even had pain urinating after lots of ingested yummy (but evil!) gluten. All gone.

But NOTHING could prepare me for what I experienced upon my INADVERTENT gluten challenge last week when I let a fine restaurant lull me with "don't worry, it's gluten free sausage, our chef and his wife are on the same diet..." and then, the next thing I ate in the same meal was truly my fault- succumbing to peer pressure and again, "don't worry, you can eat SPELT pasta, we already told you our chef and his wife are on the same gluten free diet." Of course I told them I can't eat spelt. Which then turned into quite a little scene with the other EIGHT people at the table. Never have I folded but I realized I never have challenged myself so I ate ONE little ravioli and waited... I was already having that "ohmigawd I swallowed razor blades" feeling from the sausage and it only took 20 minutes to bloat up like I had swallowed a medicine ball (and my gut was nearly that hard too).

I broke into a sweat and excused myself from the restaurant and got into my car. I could not even sit down for the pain in my rectum like a dagger, had to sit on my left glute and drive! And over the next 7 hours here's what I felt:

-hot and cold sweats

-fever of 100.0F

-stabbing, burning, sharp pain in gut

-every muscle in my body constricting

-bloating with hard abdomen

-arthritis like pain in hands, knees and feet