Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Hi there. First post so hope this works. I have another celiac person who is trying to tell me that wine has gluten because wineries use barley enzime to frement the yeast. She claims to have gotten this info from a winery. All the books etc. that I have read say that wine does not have gluten unless aged in oak barrels and even then it is debatable. I can't find anything about the yeast. Anyone know?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the board.

There is no need for an external agent for fermentation--there is plenty of available sugar in the grapes. I drink wine without worry and have never had a problem. I think your friend is mistaken.

There are a number of celiac urban myths that make the rounds. This is a new one on me, though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've never heard that one either. I'm pretty sensitive and have never had a problem with wine :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had a glass of red wine with dinner last night and am feeling just fine today :) I drink it all the time with no problems -- enjoy!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×