Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

jasonD2

Could I Have Gotten Glutened From A Probiotic?

Recommended Posts

My doctor suggested I take a strong probiotic so I got some HLC Synbiotic by Pharmax. 20 min after drinking the mixed powder i got tingling in my arms and legs. I still dont know if this is a gluten-related reaction or something else, but I suspect it is gluten.

The company is in the UK and clearly states the product is gluten free. the US distributors also have gluten free listed all over their websites. the only thing suspicious is that they use maltodextrin to dry the flavoring, which is apricot powder. They site says the powder is also gluten free. could my "reaction" be unrelated? I didnt eat anything else different


Endoscopy & blood panel all negative 12/09 after being strict w/ gluten free diet

As of 8/09 - Candida Overgrowth, C.difficile overgrowth, elevated fecal anti-gliadin, elevated putrefactive SCFA's

Developed severe lactose intolerance, IBS and food sensitivities in 02 after contracting Giardia from a river in Oregon

Had negative celiac blood work in 02

Elevated stool anti-gliadin Ab (21 with 10 being cutoff for normal) - 2008

Positive for DQ8- 2008

Tested high positive for egg, dairy, soy, ginger, mustard - 2008

Lactulose/Mannitol (leaky gut) test indicated slight intestinal permeability

Improved with gluten free diet but still have spastic constipation

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Sometimes we react to things whose source we cannot identify. I react to gluten-free sublingual B12 but do not have reactions to any of the ingredients individually. I would say if you react to something, just don't take it and leave it at that. ;)


Neroli

"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973

Lactose free 1990

(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's

Diagnosed psoriatic arthritis 2004

Self-diagnosed gluten intolerant, gluten-free Nov. 2007

Soy free March 2008

Nightshade free Feb 2009

Citric acid free June 2009

Potato starch free July 2009

(Totally) corn free Nov. 2009

Legume free March 2010

Now tolerant of lactose

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Natural flavorings by the way are usually alcohol based and thus not gluten free.

Bea


Diagnosed celiac sprue as infant: failure to thrive & pneumonia-back on grains age 4. Began herbs 1971 combating chronic kidney disease/general ill health 1973. Avoid wheat family and "allergens" by 1980. Late 80's doc. diagnosed candida: cave-man diet. Diagnosed degraded myelin sheath 2006; need co-enzyme B vitamins. Discovered celiac fall 2007; finally told diagnosis as infant. Recently found I am salicylic acid intolerant. Ironically can't tolerate most herbs now. Can now eat brown rice & other gluten-free grains (except corn) & even maple syrup & now homeopathic medicine works! Am still exploring the shape of this elephant but I've made progress!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My doc also told me to do the same, but I'm very dairy-intolerant also. It took some doing to find a probiotic that was allergen-free besides the gluten-free. You COULD be reacting to some other food besides your gluten issues.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jason,

I tend to be leary to things manufactured outside of the US because of labeling laws. Why not go down to Whole Foods and get the stongest ones they have, allergen free, and just take them three times a day?

Keep your chin up!!


Gluten free is not so bad! If you are new, hang it there, it gets easier!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My probiotic states that it does not contain milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat (gluten) peanuts or soybeans. It goes on to say that some straines are fermented in soy and/or milk and that processing elilminates any soy and/or milk residue. I am intolerant to soy and milk. I question if this is a safe product for me.

Can anyone provide the brand name of a product that is definitely gluten, soy and dairy free?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not too sure about other products because I use dairy based probiotics which obviously doesn't work for you.

One thing I have learned, when it comes to allergen labeling (I know it's not an allergy it's a disease but the FDA considers it an allergy for labelling), in the US we only label wheat as an allergen on foods. I have learned to scrutinize each ingredient in a product, and sometimes some do slip through. I know you asked about maltodextrin, once again here in the US, if the maltodextrin is sourced from wheat and it is known to come from wheat it has to be marked on the label.

There are some foods that I purchase that come from other countries through Whole Foods or off the internet that specify were it is sourced from, for example: maltodextrin(corn); maltodextrin(wheat); maltodextrin(rye); et........ Maltodextrin can be sourced from many different grains and if it is from barley, malt or rye in the US it won't be labelled as such unless the manufacturer chooses to put it on there themselves. As of recently, most of the maltodextrin used (especially in the US) is corn so you should be safe there. Now depending on how sensitive your system is, there has been research on cross contact where silos are used for more than one type of grain for example, housed wheat one season and then housed corn the next without being cleaned. This is usually a bigger issue with oats, but could be possible with corn, rice etc.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I ran across a product that that lists flavoring. It is Goody's Cool Orange pain relief powder. I contacted the company and was told:

"The maltodextrin in the peppermint flavor is derived from wheat at less than 60 parts per million." That isn't disclosed on the product label. I couldn't taste that there was peppermint flavoring in it.

From now on I will question every product that lists flavoring.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites