Seante Wilson

Food Shortage

Rate this topic

Hi I am new to this and now that I have gone through my entire house and rid it of gluten, I pretty much have nothing.

I was wondering if there was a program out there that helps people like me on a small fixed budget to get food.

I'm not sure about programs that will help you, but here are some tips. Many if not most of the foods you cook will naturally not contain gluten. A good vegetable soup with lentil beans added to it tastes great and fills you up. Put potatoes in there too, maybe some ham. Beans are in general very inexpensive and filling. Just boil them with some salt or even throw in a couple of pieces of bacon.

You don't have to buy all these expensive gluten free substitutes. Many baking recipes can use a simple flour blend of 2 parts brown rice or white rice flour (or mix the two of them) and 1 part cornstarch or potato starch. I use that flour mix to make all sorts of things from cookies to pancakes.

Gluten free bread mixes are super easy to make. They don't require all the kneading and mixing that regular gluten bread does and they are WAY cheaper than premade gluten breads. I love Gluten Free Pantry Basic white bread. However, it says to let it rise for 30 minutes. I find it needs an hour to rise properly. It's about $3.50 or $4.50 depending on where you buy it for a box and that makes a regular size loaf.

At food banks you can usually get cheese and I think fruits and vegetables right? Find out about farmer's markets in your area for cheap produce. Asian markets and Latino markets also usually have great deals on produce and bulk items like rice and beans. Corn tortillas are cheap and you can put all sorts of stuff in them. I love to chop up radishes, a little avocado, some cheese and then put salt and pepper and olive oil into a warm corn tortilla. You can melt cheese and make a quesadilla in them too.

Easy pancake recipe

3/4 cup brown rice flour

1/4 cup cornstarch or potato starch