This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

A Little Worried...

Joni63

Joni63 Collaborator

Hello,

I started training for a sprint triathlon last year after 3 years being dx'd celiac. I knew I had an issue with dairy and caffiene, but never totally eliminated them. In the last 2 weeks I am having a lot more stomach pain, gas and bloating. I'm currently going through a lot of tests and am getting rescoped. Am starting an elimination diet tomorrow thanks to suggestions on another thread.

I ran my first 5k last Sept., then an 8k in Nov, and am signed up to do an 11k in April and my first sprint tri also in April. I was not able to do anything all week and this threw off my training schedule. I seem to go through good phases and then crashes. Wondering if I got myself in too deep as I'm also signed up for a 1/2 marathon in Oct(I actually won free entry for this one) and have some other races I plan on doing. I did see a nutritionist and had my vitamin levels checked. Everything was good, but still waiting on the serum ferritin result which was just done late thursday and has been low before. Not sure how much I can train if I don't start feeling better.

Anyone else training for events like this? Do you push through your bad times? How do you cope?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

tictax707 Apprentice