norazoey

Gluten Problem? Affect Thyroid Function

Rate this topic

Good Morning,

This is my first time posting, I apologize in advance for the length of my post but am at my wits end and DESPERATE FOR SOME ANSWERS. I have been taking Nexium or Zegerid on an as needed basis for 10 years for what Dr's say is acid reflex.

I also have been dx and treated for hypothyroidism (Hashimoto's) for the last 4 years, surgery 2 years ago to remove large nodules and right thyroid lobe.

I have been having problems getting my Synthroid dosage regulated seem my dosage is either increased or decreased every time I have labs, and my symptoms are all over the place. Dr's keep telling me NONE of my symptoms are thyroid related, but will not look into any other causes. I have been put on several anti-anxiety/depressants, and stomach medication, that DO NOT seem to be helping.

Dr's keep saying it is just anxiety and acid reflex.

Symptoms*

Tired, Cold, Constipation,Body Aches (Hands,Hips,Back,Knees),Headaches, Low Mood,Mind Slow,Trouble Concentrating/Memory,Weight gain

Periods of *

Not sleeping, Hot, Night Sweats, Loose stools,

Racing Heart, Palpations, Mind Races, Shortness of breath,

Shakes, Weight loss, Nervousness/Anxious,

In March 2010 I started having these spell (for lack of a better word)

Severe bloating,gas, belching, stomach cramps, Pain breast bone area and under right rib cage, Right shoulder blade pain, Nausea, Constipation/Loose stools and noticed some of the *above symptoms seem to go along with these spells.

I notice these symptoms seem to happen when I eat bread,cookies,pizza,cereal, ect.or drink beer.

Dr's say then don't eat those foods!!!

So I have tried to avoid these foods, but seem to be still having problems with gravies, soups, and sauces.

Do you think I could have a problem with gluten?

Is it possible for gluten to cause anxiety,not able to think right (slow brain),and racing heart, sleep problems ect????