Jump to content
  • Sign Up
0
fire-chickens

Uncle Bens Whole Grain White Rice Cheddar Broccoli Cheddar

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

i know uncle bens white rice is gluten free but the cheddar broccoli whole grain white rice doesn't say if it is on the box.

here's the ingredients.

WHOLE GRAIN WHITE RICE [PARTIALLY MILLED PARBOILED BROWN RICE, RICE BRAN AND GERM]; INULIN (CHICORY ROOT FIBER); GUAR GUM; NIACIN; IRON (FERRIC ORTHOPHOSPHATE); THIAMINe (THIAMINE MONONITRATE); FOLATE (FOLIC ACID); SEASONING BLEND [sALT; MODIFIED CORN STARCH; BROCCOLI*; CHEDDAR CHEESE

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nothing in that ingredient list raises a red flag regarding gluten. Not surprisingly in a product containing Cheddar, there are several dairy ingredients.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We use Uncle Ben's all the time. Not that particular product though. Keep in mind many gluten-free foods will not say gluten-free on the box.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I posted an email to Uncle Ben's late Friday afternoon to ask ifthey dust their rice with cornstarch because I am VERY sensitive to corn. I imagine I will get an answer when they come back to work on Monday. You could send them and email about this, just to be sure.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I finally got an answer from Uncle Ben's. Their boil-in-bag rice and even their instant rice are gluten AND corn free, and processed on a dedicated line. Hooray!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All that for some rice??? :P Just some rice, water, a gluten free bouilllon cube, and any other fresh ingredients you care to add. It only takes 20 minutes. No corn syrup, yeast, corn, dairy, soy :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The maltodextrin might be a problem. It can be made from different things, wheat being one of them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the U.S. maltodextrin is virtually never made from wheat and if it is, it must by law be listed. Hence, maltodextrin is absolutely not a concern unless wheat is listed.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0

×