Nizzy

Ttg Antigen Level 10

Rate this topic

I just went to the GI doc on Friday (due to MANY symptoms of gluten intolerance/celiac disease for many years) and got my tests back on Tuesday. They took a blood and feces test. The nurse called me and told me everything was normal except for me tTg antibody test. She said the normal level was 5 and my level was a 10. She said that is very common for celiacs and told me the doc wants me to have an endoscopy.

Can anyone explain to me what this means? She didn't confirm or deny that had celiac disease...

I'm a college student and everyone knows what that means - I don't have much money to pay for medical expenses! I do have medical insurance but I will still get a bill that I'm not ready to pay.

I would like to do the biopsy but would good would it do?

Any advice or help would be much appreciated!

I just went to the GI doc on Friday (due to MANY symptoms of gluten intolerance/celiac disease for many years) and got my tests back on Tuesday. They took a blood and feces test. The nurse called me and told me everything was normal except for me tTg antibody test. She said the normal level was 5 and my level was a 10. She said that is very common for celiacs and told me the doc wants me to have an endoscopy.

Can anyone explain to me what this means? She didn't confirm or deny that had celiac disease...

I'm a college student and everyone knows what that means - I don't have much money to pay for medical expenses! I do have medical insurance but I will still get a bill that I'm not ready to pay.

I would like to do the biopsy but would good would it do?

Any advice or help would be much appreciated!

Well, here is the thing....you have abnormal bloodwork that could indicate that you have a disease that is causing damage to your body which could result in some pretty serious complications down the road if it goes untreated. The way I see it you have two options: