CrockAlley

Ener-G Breads - Alternatives?

Rate this topic

I've been using Ener-G breads for my lunch sandwiches for months now, and I've accidentally purchased a moldy loaf twice, and I've seen moldy loaves in the stores countless times. I was just making up my sandwich before work, and in the middle of the loaf, mold! Ugh! I have to think of something else to eat beside sandwiches.

Are there any other good breads out there? Ener-G was edible if I toasted it.

Thanks.

When I was first diagnosed I started out using Ener-G bread and was not impressed to say the least. I am still new at the diet but have found I much prefer Canyon Bakehouse or Udi's bread.

I've been using Ener-G breads for my lunch sandwiches for months now, and I've accidentally purchased a moldy loaf twice, and I've seen moldy loaves in the stores countless times. I was just making up my sandwich before work, and in the middle of the loaf, mold! Ugh! I have to think of something else to eat beside sandwiches.

Thanks.

Hello, when first diagnosed I also had the bread "trial and error" experience. Ener-G was only tried once, did not like it, then I tried Dr. Schar, but they use whole egg in it and it upsets my tummy, however eggs white I can tolerate, so when Udi's came in the market I was delighted, been using it since with no problems.

Hope this helps,

-Miriam

I used to only eat Udis bread til I heard about kinnikinnick's new Soft Bread. Its by far the best out there. Only thing that comes somewhat close is Glutino Genius but I dont touch it unless I cant find kinnikinnick

Just about anything, including a rock, is better than Ener-G.

I like Rudi's Original (not Udi's). I also like baking from a mix - King Arthur is good. Someone reco'd Sun Flour mix to me and I'm going to try it.