JenniBea

Celiac Suicide Mission For A Positive Endoscopy Result?

Rate this topic

Hi people!! I'm currently going through the motions to get a solid celiac diagnosis so I can start with the gluten-free diet that I am actually looking forward to by now.

Just after christmas I went on a diet, like many do. Nothing serious, just less chocolate, chrisps, pasta and white bread. Lost the few pounds I had gained and all was good. Went back to eating missed food, (but less than before to not gain unwanted pounds back!!) and started vomiting. A couple of times a week, and feeling really tired. I have a history of unexplained anemia and the symptoms I was experiencing were a dead ringer. Went for a blood test, came back b12 deficient. Which was odd because without much bread and pasta recently I have being into meat eggs and dairy instead. Was to go back for a re-test in a months time. Fair do's...? During this month I started playing around to try finding out what was making me sick then. Bread....barf. Sausage...barf. Bacon....fine. Egg....fine. Gravy....barf. Cake....barf. Pasta....barf. Salad....fine. Common denominator to my conclusion....? It's wheat that's trying to kill me! Feeling like I was onto something I ordered a celiac home testing kit off the Internet and it came back positive. My months wait was at an end now and I was go go back for my b12 blood test. I told the nurse about this and she (with doctors permission) sent off blood to test for celiac. 3 days later I was back at the doctors to start a life-long corse of b12 injections because my b12 was lower than before. Eventhough I have been eating b12 rich foods more once I realised it was not going to make me sick. Anyway, doctor has ordered an endoscopy for me and said it will take a few weeks for an appointment to come through. I decided to have a few days off gluten at that point and felt great for it, but knowing I have to continue eating wheat until I get an official diagnosis, I would kick off most d