mamato4

Should I Have An Endoscopy?

Rate this topic

Hi All,

I am new here, so I am just starting out on learning about Celiac. I was given a positive blood test result over the phone from my Dr yesterday. I am waiting on a referral to a gastroenterologist. Here's my question: Can you help me think through the pros and cons of going through with the biopsy? Part of me thinks that a lifetime of symptoms that fit the dx is good enough. I temporarily took myself off gluten recently and felt AMAZING for the first time EVER (I'm 32). I went back on it and had shockingly severe symptoms within an hour and for almost a week. I'm off again and am starting to feel normal. The other part of me thinks that I should find out the extent of my intestinal damage (and IF I have any), so that I'm not tempted to cheat when the gluten-free diet gets hard to stick to.

Any advice? I'm torn. I don't want to go back on gluten for the test, but I really do want to know. I should add: I have 4 kids who I'd like to have tested. Blood work will be happening soon. My 8yo has had chronic diarrhea since birth and has an ADHD diagnosis, though I've always suspected food as a correlation.

TIA for you help.

Hi All,