Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):




Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Scott Adams

    Are Oreos Gluten-Free?

    Scott Adams
    4 4
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Are Oreo cookies gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? Soon they will offer gluten-free versions of your favorite Oreos!


    Oreos. Image: CC BY 2.0--Torben Bjørn Hansen
    Caption: Oreos. Image: CC BY 2.0--Torben Bjørn Hansen

    Celiac.com 11/04/2020 (updated 11/16/2020) - Oreo cookies were introduced in 1912, and have long been the top-selling cookie in the United States. We get a lot of questions from readers and newly diagnosed celiacs who want to know if Oreo cookies are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease.

    Are Oreo cookies gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? Most of you Oreo lovers with celiac disease will know the answer to this right off the bat. Sadly, no, Oreo cookies are not gluten-free, and are not safe for people with celiac disease. However, in January 2021 Nabisco is launching two new gluten-free varieties: OREO Gluten-Free cookies and OREO Double Stuf Gluten-Free cookies!



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Most non-gluten-free cookies are made with enriched wheat flour. Unless cookies are clearly labeled "Gluten-Free," they are almost always a red flag. As with so many foods we love, the answer lies in the ingredients. Unless they are made without wheat flour, or gluten ingredients, cookies are rarely gluten-free.

    Oreos are no exception. Here's a breakdown of the various flavors and ingredients in Oreo cookies:

    Oreo cookies contain the following ingredients: sugar, unbleached enriched flour, high oleic canola and palm oil, cocoa, high fructose corn syrup, leavening, cornstarch, salt, soy lecithin, vanillin and chocolate. Allergens: Wheat

    Oreos come in numerous shapes, sizes and colors, including Double Stuff, organic, Mini Oreos and football shaped cookies, among others. Flavors can differ by location, and can include Golden Oreos, cool mint creme, strawberry milkshake, peanut butter and sugar free Oreos.

    All of the above Oreo cookie flavors and colors are made with wheat flour. That mean none of the Oreo cookie flavors are gluten-free, so they are not safe for people with celiac disease.

    If you want gluten-free Oreos you will have to wait until January 2021 when they launch their new gluten-free versions of their OREO Gluten-Free cookies and OREO Double Stuf Gluten-Free cookies!

    If you're looking to bake at home, here's a list of top brands of gluten-free cookie dough.

    For a list of SAFE gluten-free ingredients, please check celiac.com's SAFE Gluten-Free Foods and Ingredients list.

    For a list of UNSAFE gluten-free ingredients, please check celiac.com's UNSAFE Forbidden Non-Gluten-Free Foods and Ingredients list.

    For more information on Oreo cookies at the Oreo.com website.

    Edited by Scott Adams

    4 4

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    It sounds pretty obvious they're not, but...maybe a bell is ringing in the producer's room right now? Many many cookies have their gluten-free version, what about thinking of an Oreo gluten free one?

    The market is ready, we are ready😉, are they?😁

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I'm not an Oreos fan but my sister, who also has celiac, is. She lives in California so she probably goes with the Trader Joe's brand when she has a craving.

    You'd think Nabisco would get on the gluten-free bus. (shaking my head)

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    11 hours ago, Scott Adams said:

    Nabisco has just announced new gluten-free versions of their Oreos which will come out in January 2021!!

     

    So... there's a MOLE in the group?!   
    Too bad they're not a MOLÈ.  [ahem!] 

    ~sc'Que?

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 08/07/2019 - A good gluten-free cookie can help take the sting out of having celiac disease or gluten-intolerance. Next to baked at home from scratch, a good, reliable gluten-free cookie dough can deliver that home-baked experience on demand, without the extra work.
    Of course there are popular gluten-free cookie mixes, but we'll get to those another time. For now, we're going to concentrate on the top brands of gluten-free cookie dough.
    These companies and brands are all labeled gluten-free, so you can serve them with confidence to any gluten-free cookie lover with celiac disease.
    Top Brands of Gluten-Free Cookie Dough...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/26/2020 - How do you figure out which Halloween candy is gluten-free and safe for you and your loved ones? You check out the Celiac.com’s Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, of course!
    Here's our best, most comprehensive, most up-to-date list of safe, gluten-free Halloween candy, along with a list of unsafe candy that contains gluten and should be avoided.
    This year, we’ve added candies to both the SAFE Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, and to our UNSAFE Non-Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list. We’ve also added more manufacturer contact information for easier answers to gluten-free questions.
    Celiac.com strives to mak...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/23/2020 - If you have celiac disease, or are gluten-free for other medical reasons, getting a good gluten-free ice cream bar, ice cream sandwich or ice cream cone can be a struggle. Every summer, we get questions like this one: Are Klondike Bars gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? In fact, we get a lot of questions about ice cream, and specifically about which ice cream bars, sandwiches and cones are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Just in time for summer, here are five top gluten-free ice cream bars, sandwiches and cones that are widely available at stores near you.
    Dove
    All Dove ice...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/24/2020 - For people with celiac disease, and those who are gluten-free for other medical reasons, it can be a battle to get a good, reliable brand and flavor of gluten-free ice cream. True, most ice cream is made without gluten ingredients and may be gluten-safe, even if not labeled "Gluten-Free." However, the trouble starts with added ingredients, especially cookies, or cookie dough, among others. Be especially careful of any cookies or cookie dough ingredients.
    Just in time for summer, here are more than a hundred top gluten-free ice cream brands and flavors that are widely available at stores near you. Do you have a favorite ice ...