Celiac.com 06/05/2020 (Updated. originally published 02/20/2015) - There's a lot of confusion about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. Here's Celiac.com's latest list of gluten-free, gluten-safe beer, wine and alcohol.
In the United States, products labeled gluten-free must not contain or be made from wheat, rye or barley. That means many beers cannot be labeled gluten-free. Beers made with gluten-free ingredients and are gluten-free and can be labeled gluten-free.
Distillation removes gluten proteins from the final product. That means all distilled spirits are technically gluten-free. However, some people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity have adverse reactions to spirits distilled from wheat, barley or rye. Many people with celiac disease have no problems at all with such spirits. The best advice we can give is to trust your gut. Avoid eating or drinking things that upset your stomach. However, unless they have added gluten ingredients, such spirits do not contain gluten, and are safe to drink. If you tolerate them well, you can be comforted by the fact that they are likely just as safe as spirits made from gluten-free ingredients and labeled 'Gluten-Free."
Gluten-Free and Gluten-Safe Spirits, Beers and Wines include:
Naturally Gluten-free Beers
- Anheuser-Busch Redbridge
- Bard's Gold
- Bard's Tale Beer
- Brasserie Dupont Forêt Libre
- Brasseurs Sans Gluten Glutenberg Blanche
- Brunehaut Bio Ambrée
- Brunehaut Blonde Bio
- Brunehaut Blanche
- Burning Brothers Brewing
- Coors Peak
- Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales: Tweason'ale
- Departed Soles Brewing Company
- Drummond Gluten Free
- Epic Brewing Company: Glutenator
- Ghostfish Brewery
- Glutenberg American Pale Ale
- Glutenberg Blonde
- Glutenberg Belgian Double
- Glutenberg India Pale Ale
- Glutenberg Rousse
- Green's Discovery Amber Ale
- Green's Endeavour
- Green's Enterprise Dry-Hopped Lager
- Green's India Pale Ale
- Green's Quest Tripel Blonde Ale
- Ground Breaker Corsa Rose Gold Ale
- Ground Breaker IPA No. 5
- Ground Breaker Dark Ale
- Holidaily Brewing Company
- Ipswich Ale Brewery: Celia Saison
- Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail
- Lakefront New Grist Ginger Style Ale
- Lakefront New Grist Pilsner Style
- Minhas Lazy Mutt Gluten Free
- Mongozo Premium Pilsener
- New Planet Belgian Style Ale
- New Planet Blonde Ale
- New Planet Pale Ale
- New Planet Raspberry Ale
- New Planet Seclusion IPA
- New Planet Tread Lightly Session Ale
- Nickel Brook Gluten Free
- Nouvelle France La Messagère
- Nouvelle-France Messagère Aux Fruits
- Nouvelle-France Messagère Red Ale
- Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Lemon
- Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Premium
- Sprecher Brewing Company's Shakparo Ale
- Steadfast Beer gluten-free Blonde and Pale Ales
- Steadfast Beer Company's Oatmeal Cream Stout
- To Øl Reparationsbajer Gluten Free
- Whistler Forager
- Alley Kat Scona Gold Kölsch
- Brunehaut Bio Tripel
- Estrella Damm Daura
- Estrella Damm Daura Marzen
- Lammsbräu Glutenfrei Lager Beer
- Mikkeller American Dream Gluten Free
- Mikkeller Green Gold Gluten Free
- Mikkeller I Wish Gluten Free IPA
- Mikkeller Peter, Pale And Mary Gluten Free
- New Belgium Glutiny brand Golden and Pale Ales
- Short's Brewing Space Rock
- Stone Delicious IPA
- Sufferfest Brewing Company Pale Ale and Lager
- Widmer Omission Lager
- Widmer Omission IPA
- Widmer Omission Pale Ale
- Wold Top Against The Grain
- Wold Top Marmalade Porter
- Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA
Gluten-Free Hard Cider
Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels!
Brands of Gluten-Free Hard Cider
Blue Mountain Cider Company
Bulmer's Hard Cider
Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products)
Gaymer Cider Company
Harpoon Craft Cider
J.K. Scrumpy's Organic Hard Cider
Lazy Jack's Cider
Newton's Folly Hard Cider
Original Sin Hard Cider
Spire Mountain Draft Cider
Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre
Is Wine Gluten-Free?
All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.
Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'
So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.
Is Gin Gluten-Free?
Most gins are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final distilled product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
Brands of Gluten-Free Gin
- Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes
Brands of Standard Gin
- Aviation American Gin
- Bombay Sapphire
- Boodles British Gin
- Booth's Gin
- Leopolds Gin
- New Amsterdam Gin
Is Rum Gluten-Free?
Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Beware of pre-made drink mixes, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients as flavoring.
Brands of Gluten-Free Rum
- Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum
- Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored
- Bayou Rum
- Bundaberg Rum
- Captain Morgan Rum
- Cruzan Rum
- Malibu Rum
- Montanya Distillers
- Mount Gay Rum
- Meyer's Rum
Fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.
Is Tequila Gluten-Free?
Distilled from the agave cactus, all 100% agave tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.
Brands of Gluten-free Tequila
- 1519 Tequila
- 1800 Tequila
- Cabo Wabo
- Don Julio
- El Jimador
- Jose Cuervo
Is Vodka Gluten-Free?
Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and can be labeled as gluten-free.
Brands of Naturally Gluten-Free Vodka
- Broken Shed Vodka
- Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV
- Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong
- Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac
- Rice Vodka—Kissui
- Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU
Many vodkas are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
Vodkas distilled from cereal grains
- Barley Vodka—Finlandia
- Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya,
- Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka
- Rye Vodka—Belvedere, BiaÅ‚a Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Å»ubrówka
- Gluten-Free Whiskey
Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.
Gluten-free Whiskey Brands
- Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum
- Gold Spur Corn Whiskey by Cowboy Country Distilling is made with corn, millet and oats
Whiskeys Distilled from Cereal Grains
- Bourbon—Benjamin Prichard's, Booker's, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson's Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad
- Canadian Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal,
- Tenesse Whiskey—Jack Daniels, George Dickel.
- Irish Whiskey—Bushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew
- Japanese Blended Whiskey—Hibiki, Kakubin, Nikka,
- Japanese Single Malt Whiskey—Hakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi
- Rye Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Bulleitt
- Scotch Whiskey Blends—Ballentine's, Bell's, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar's, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher's, Whitehorse
- Scotch Whiskey Single Malts—Bowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker
- Taiwanese Whiskey—Kavalan Classic
Are Wine Coolers Gluten-Free?
The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products, and so contain gluten. There are a few exceptions.
Gluten-Free Wine Coolers
- Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages
- Boones - all EXCEPT malt beverages
Other Gluten-Free Alcoholic Brews, Wines and Spirits
- Cognac—made from grapes
- Khalua Coffee Liquer
- Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
- Old Deadly Cider
Gluten-Free Drink Mixes
- Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape)
- Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape)
- Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut
- Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders
- Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix
- Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix
- TGI Friday's Brand: On The Rocks, Long Island Ice Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, Pina Colada, and Strawberry Daiquiri.
- TGI Friday's Club Cocktails including: Gin Martini, Manhattan, Screwdriver, Vodka Martini, and Whiskey Sour mix.
Other Gluten-free Beverages Mixes & Cooking Alcohol
- Club Tom Collins—made with corn
- Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery
- Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes
- Mead—made from honey
- Mistico: Jose Cuervo Mistico—agave and cane
- Ouzo - made from grapes and anise
- Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White
- Also Godiva products contain gluten as do Smirnoff FMB's, Twisted V, and Smirnoff Ice
Additives Are Sometimes Used in Alcohols/Spirits
Certain spirits use chemical additives and preservatives such as glycerin to create a specific "mouth feel" and texture in an alcoholic beverage. Propylene glycol is used in foods and spirits, and although these ingredients are gluten-free, some people do have allergic reactions to them. Sulfites are often added to red wines, and many people are allergic to them.