Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Get help in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Scott Adams
    Scott Adams

    Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Celiac.com's latest gluten-free beer, wine and alcohol guide & listing.


    Caption: Photo: CC by-sa 2.0--hanspetermeyer.com

    Celiac.com 10/25/2019 (Updated. originally published 02/20/2015) - There's a lot of confusion about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. Here's Celiac.com's latest list of gluten-free, gluten-safe beer, wine and alcohol.

    Gluten-Free Beer

    In the United States, products labeled gluten-free must not contain or be made from wheat, rye or barley. That means many beers cannot be labeled gluten-free. Beers made with gluten-free ingredients and are gluten-free and can be labeled gluten-free.

    Gluten-Removed Beer

    A number of beers are treated with enzymes to break down gluten. These beers are typically filtered to remove any stray proteins. Such beers can be labeled Gluten-Free in EU, but not in Canada or the US.

    Distilled Spirits

    Distillation removes gluten proteins from the final product. That means all distilled spirits are technically gluten-free. However, some people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity have adverse reactions to spirits distilled from wheat, barley or rye. Many people with celiac disease have no problems at all with such spirits. The best advice we can give is to trust your gut. Avoid eating or drinking things that upset your stomach. However, unless they have added gluten ingredients, such spirits do not contain gluten, and are safe to drink. If you tolerate them well, you can be comforted by the fact that they are likely just as safe as spirits made from gluten-free ingredients and labeled 'Gluten-Free."

    Gluten-Free and Gluten-Safe Spirits, Beers and Wines include:

    Naturally Gluten-free Beers

    • Anheuser-Busch Redbridge
    • Bard's Gold
    • Bard's Tale Beer
    • Brasserie Dupont Forêt Libre
    • Brasseurs Sans Gluten Glutenberg Blanche
    • Brunehaut Bio Ambrée
    • Brunehaut Blonde Bio
    • Brunehaut Blanche
    • Burning Brothers Brewing
    • Coors Peak
    • Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales: Tweason'ale
    • Departed Soles Brewing Company
    • Drummond Gluten Free
    • Epic Brewing Company: Glutenator
    • Ghostfish Brewery
    • Glutenberg American Pale Ale
    • Glutenberg Blonde
    • Glutenberg Belgian Double
    • Glutenberg India Pale Ale
    • Glutenberg Rousse
    • Green's Discovery Amber Ale
    • Green's Endeavour
    • Green's Enterprise Dry-Hopped Lager
    • Green's India Pale Ale
    • Green's Quest Tripel Blonde Ale
    • Ground Breaker Corsa Rose Gold Ale
    • Ground Breaker IPA No. 5
    • Ground Breaker Dark Ale
    • Holidaily Brewing Company
    • Ipswich Ale Brewery: Celia Saison
    • Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail
    • Lakefront New Grist Ginger Style Ale
    • Lakefront New Grist Pilsner Style
    • Minhas Lazy Mutt Gluten Free
    • Mongozo Premium Pilsener
    • New Planet Belgian Style Ale
    • New Planet Blonde Ale
    • New Planet Pale Ale
    • New Planet Raspberry Ale
    • New Planet Seclusion IPA
    • New Planet Tread Lightly Session Ale
    • Nickel Brook Gluten Free
    • Nouvelle France La Messagère
    • Nouvelle-France Messagère Aux Fruits
    • Nouvelle-France Messagère Red Ale
    • Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Lemon
    • Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Premium
    • Sprecher Brewing Company's Shakparo Ale
    • Steadfast Beer gluten-free Blonde and Pale Ales
    • Steadfast Beer Company's Oatmeal Cream Stout
    • To Øl Reparationsbajer Gluten Free
    • Whistler Forager

    Gluten-Removed Beers

    • Alley Kat Scona Gold Kölsch
    • Brunehaut Bio Tripel
    • Estrella Damm Daura
    • Estrella Damm Daura Marzen
    • Lammsbräu Glutenfrei Lager Beer
    • Mikkeller American Dream Gluten Free
    • Mikkeller Green Gold Gluten Free
    • Mikkeller I Wish Gluten Free IPA
    • Mikkeller Peter, Pale And Mary Gluten Free
    • New Belgium Glutiny brand Golden and Pale Ales
    • Short's Brewing Space Rock
    • Stone Delicious IPA
    • Sufferfest Brewing Company Pale Ale and Lager
    • Widmer Omission Lager
    • Widmer Omission IPA
    • Widmer Omission Pale Ale
    • Wold Top Against The Grain
    • Wold Top Marmalade Porter
    • Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA

    Gluten-Free Hard Cider

    Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels!

    Brands of Gluten-Free Hard Cider

    Ace Ciders
    Angry Orchard
    Blue Mountain Cider Company
    Blackthorn Cider
    Bulmer's Hard Cider
    Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products)
    Gaymer Cider Company
    Harpoon Craft Cider
    J.K. Scrumpy's Organic Hard Cider
    Lazy Jack's Cider
    Magner's Cider
    Newton's Folly Hard Cider
    Original Sin Hard Cider
    Spire Mountain Draft Cider
    Strongbow Cider
    Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre
    Woodchuck
    Woodpecker Cider

    Is Wine Gluten-Free?

    All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.

    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols

    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'

    So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.

    Is Gin Gluten-Free?

    Most gins are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final distilled product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

    Brands of Gluten-Free Gin

    • Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes 

    Brands of Standard Gin

    • Aviation American Gin
    • Beefeater
    • Bombay
    • Bombay Sapphire
    • Boodles British Gin
    • Booth's Gin 
    • Gordon's
    • Leopolds Gin
    • New Amsterdam Gin
    • Seagram's
    • Tanqueray

    Is Rum Gluten-Free?

    Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Beware of pre-made drink mixes, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients as flavoring.

    Brands of Gluten-Free Rum

    • Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum
    • Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored
    • Bayou Rum
    • Bundaberg Rum
    • Captain Morgan Rum
    • Cruzan Rum
    • Malibu Rum
    • Mount Gay Rum
    • Meyer's Rum

    Gluten-Free Sake

    Fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.

    Is Tequila Gluten-Free?

    Distilled from the agave cactus, all 100% agave tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.

    Brands of Gluten-free Tequila

    • 1519 Tequila
    • 1800 Tequila
    • Cabo Wabo
    • Casamigos
    • Cazadores
    • Chimayo
    • Don Julio
    • El Jimador
    • Herradura
    • Hornitos
    • Jose Cuervo
    • Patrón
    • Sauza

    Is Vodka Gluten-Free?

    Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and can be labeled as gluten-free.

    Brands of Naturally Gluten-Free Vodka

    • Broken Shed Vodka
    • Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV
    • Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong
    • Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac
    • Rice Vodka—Kissui
    • Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU

    Many vodkas are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

    Vodkas distilled from cereal grains

    • Barley Vodka—Finlandia
    • Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya, 
    • Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka
    • Rye Vodka—Belvedere, BiaÅ‚a Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Å»ubrówka
    • Gluten-Free Whiskey

    Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.

    Gluten-free Whiskey Brands

    • Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum
    • Gold Spur Corn Whiskey by Cowboy Country Distilling is made with corn, millet and oats

    Whiskeys Distilled from Cereal Grains

    • Bourbon—Benjamin Prichard's, Booker's, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson's Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad
    • Canadian Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal,
    • Tenesse Whiskey—Jack Daniels, George Dickel.
    • Irish Whiskey—Bushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew
    • Japanese Blended Whiskey—Hibiki, Kakubin, Nikka, 
    • Japanese Single Malt Whiskey—Hakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi
    • Rye Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Bulleitt
    • Scotch Whiskey Blends—Ballentine's, Bell's, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar's, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher's, Whitehorse
    • Scotch Whiskey Single Malts—Bowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker 
    • Taiwanese Whiskey—Kavalan Classic

    Are Wine Coolers Gluten-Free?

    The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products, and so contain gluten. There are a few exceptions.

    Gluten-Free Wine Coolers

    • Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages
    • Boones - all EXCEPT malt beverages

    Other Gluten-Free Alcoholic Brews, Wines and Spirits

    • Brandy
    • Campari
    • Champagne
    • Cognac—made from grapes
    • Cointreau
    • Grappa
    • Jaegermeister
    • Midori
    • Prosecco
    • Khalua Coffee Liquer
    • Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
    • Old Deadly Cider
    • Sambuca
    • Vermouth

    Gluten-Free Drink Mixes

    • Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape)
    • Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape)
    • Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut
    • Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders
    • Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix
    • Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix
    • TGI Friday's Brand: On The Rocks, Long Island Ice Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, Pina Colada, and Strawberry Daiquiri.
    • TGI Friday's Club Cocktails including: Gin Martini, Manhattan, Screwdriver, Vodka Martini, and Whiskey Sour mix.

    Other Gluten-free Beverages Mixes & Cooking Alcohol

    • Club Tom Collins—made with corn
    • Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery
    • Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes
    • Mead—made from honey
    • Mistico: Jose Cuervo Mistico—agave and cane
    • Ouzo - made from grapes and anise
    • Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White
    • Also Godiva products contain gluten as do Smirnoff FMB's, Twisted V, and Smirnoff Ice

    Edited by Scott Adams


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    Lots of good info but it's clear that individual tolerance can play a big part in the consumption of some ingredients. Regarding vodka, the producer of triple distilled Taaka brand confirms that it's gluten free.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Thank you for putting together this site. After a year of extreme illness, I have been diagnosed with Celiac Sprue. over this past year I couldn't understand why I could have a Bailey's Irish Cream, but couldn't have a Sam Adams. This really helps me figure out. Thanks!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    WARNING!!! Do your own homework!!! Not everyone can drink distilled liquors made from gluten grains----in fact, every single Celiac I know of, including us, gets VERY ill from liquor made from gluten grains!!! I think the "gluten-free" status of distilled liquors is highly questionable and will soon change....

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I found out I was Celiac a few years ago after chemo treatments. I got hives that kept coming for a year after chemo was done and went gluten free immediately, as my mom and many others in my family have it as well, so I knew what it was. I am so sure that I have it, I have not even bothered to get tested. It has taken some time to feel 'normal', and not like I had a disability like I had felt in the beginning, but I feel great now, and my life is actually simpler and I feed my family healthier, all the processed food out there is so bad for humans. I am very thrilled about this site and the info on it, and all the feedback from other Celiacs is uplifting. One thing I really miss and can't seem to find a suitable replacement is beer. I don't like the rice beer. Wine and mixed drinks are so sweet.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Very informative, I occasionally go to BarsGrills where I can't get a Safe Beer. However, I did find a Beer that is pretty good....it is Redbridge...Thanks.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Distillation isn't the issue, it's what happens to the product afterwards. Vodka and Gin start off the same way, they are made from some sort of grain and transformed into a neutral spirit. Then flavors are added to them by vaporizing them through containers of berries, bark, fruit and other items. Then the vapor is cooled and the new spirit retains the flavor of the berries, bark and fruit. I think this is where the contamination occurs. I've been 'gluten free' for 5 years but drinking Gin. I gave myself a test where I only drank Chopin for 2 months. Now, not only does any gin make me seriously ill, but I realize what I can be like when truly Gluten free. I agree this is varies by the individual so each person should test themselves. Here another bit of information. Vodka's are generally supposed to be without taste and there for did not have all these other additives until recent market pressures. Gin on the other hand has always been considered a 'flavored vodka.' So you might try checking 'non flavored' vodkas. There is also a Gin called Cap Rock which is made from apples.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Very helpful. I like my Canadian Club and this is good to know. Also found a potato vodka made in Poland that is very good, very smooth, Lukskaya? that has never bothered me. From the time I was 19 till 44 I was always told by doctors (and I saw quite a few of them, with numerous GI tests) and not one ever even suggested celiac. Even though I am now gluten-free and feeling great, I wish I hadn't been misdiagnosed for so many years.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Great site. I check it frequently. As a lot of people, I diagnosed myself. First big clue came when I went on a Sugar Buster Diet (pure whole wheat) and thought I was dying, I felt so badly. I was about 37 at the time. During all of my pregnancies, I felt ill and depressed. I was ill for years after each birth I was so depleted. Now, I feel so much better and after about 5 years of eating gluten free diet, I have 'pink cheeks.' Never had pink cheeks in my life, till now. Also, I wish people would name specific beers/alcohols to drink. I stick with Redbridge beer, Chopin (potato vodka), Ouzo, rum and Tequila. But I would like to add to my list. To the people that suggest you can drink these drinks if no symptoms...I would say be careful as my symptoms were subtle. I ended up mostly feeling tired, depressed with weak bones.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Guest
    This is now closed for further comments

  • About Me

    Celiac.com's Founder and CEO, Scott was diagnosed with celiac disease  in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. Scott launched the site that later became Celiac.com in 1995 "To help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives."  In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of Journal of Gluten Sensitivity.

×
×
  • Create New...