This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

jurgen-aye

jurgen-aye Newbie

Hello there,

I'm new to this. I was seeking advice. I'm a 21 year old, who's struggled with coeliac’s for about four and a half years now. I've found mine is very sensitive, and it has caused me a lot of issue in the past. Anyway, the reason for me posting is that I work in ASDA just now, where I have done since before I had this. I'm just a shelf filling lackey, mainly to give me money whilst I'm still studying at college etc. Just recently, they've informed me that they are training everyone to be checkout trained so when the queues are extremely busy we have to come of our own departments to help the checkout operators "bust" the ques. It's called being a queue buster.

However, I can't worm my way out of it this time round - after avoiding it for several years. My issue is nothing to do with it being an undesirable job, frankly I'd prefer it to some of my responsibilities (such as waste scanning, dealing with mouldy milk and off fresh meat etc.!), but rather it's to do with my rational insecurities and anxieties I've garnered due to my life with coeliac's. In the past, I've felt like despite religiously (and obsessively at times) following my gluten-free diet I still experience pretty severe symptoms; stomach cramps, sickness, etc. Thus making it very unpredictable and hard to manage. Additionally, I've felt like they have been particularly exuberated by the occurrence of high stress/anxiety.