Rate this topic

I was getting bloodwork done a few days ago to test my thyroid and a few other things and I was recommended a cortisol test for adrenal function as my cortisol was double the highest number. I got the test home and realised that it also has a box to test for celiac. My doctor recommended testing as my symptoms are many.

Does anyone have any experience with the saliva test? I was confused because I have only ever heard of the blood tests and the endoscopy..

I am dx'd hypothyroid and taking armor also gluten free for 8 months.

After going gluten free my peripheral neuropathy improved dramatically, and my heartburn and gas also improved greatly. I'm still dealing with issues though....I am pretty careful with my diet, but when I do get glutened it is an awful experience. before going gluten free I hadn't had a solid BM in 2+ years! In the last month or so I have developed ridges in my nails, and I am concerned that they are from malnutrition. I am a fitness instructor and eat very well.

My main concern is that before I went gluten free I was hospitalized twice with extreme stomach and intestinal issues that they could find no reason for...vomiting, extreme pain, and *cough* having "accidents" ONE IN AN AIRPORT!! They just put me on percoset and sent me home. My Great Grandmother is hyothyroid and has stomach cancer, my Grandmother is hypothyroid and has a "wheat" allergy, and my uncle has MS.

My Dr. has the "just don't eat gluten and if you feel better great" attitude but I feel like I need to know the seriousness of the issue...and I don't know how accurate these saliva tests are! Or if it is worth glutening myself for an endoscopy?

Thanks so much for your input!