Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

SuzieQ1234

Starting Out On A gluten-free Diet

Rate this topic

Hello!
I am a newbie here, and currently trialling a gluten free diet. I have had terrible joint pains this year, which started in January and have travelled around my body for no apparent reason. I had a very stressful few months in my personal life in Oct/Nov last year and thought that may have contributed to it.
I was only talking to another Mum awhile ago and she said gluten can cause joint problems. Over the years I have had tummy issues, but was never able to pinpoint the cause. I never considered gluten could have been an issue. So I went to my GP who tested a range of things, which all came back fine, including celiac antibodies.
So she suggested that I try a month gluten-free, which I am now doing. I do feel quite a lot better, no headaches, less tired and 'foggy'. Tummy issues have eased. I am also vegetarian so trying to cut out grains and breads etc has been a challenge.
I am not under the guidance of a dietican as yet, so would that be an idea before reintroducing gluten or wheat? I'm not sure the best way to go from here. The gp said if I feel considerably better gluten-free, I can go and have the biopsy as bloods are not always 100%.

But since I have been off gluten for only a few weeks, bit hestitant to reintroduce it. I've been told there is a gene test that can be done, maybe that might be worth a try?

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Welcome, Suzie!

If you do have celiac disease, 30 days on a gluten-free diet is not long enough to eliminate symptoms.  You probably need to continue to be gluten free for six months.   A endoscopy/biopsy could be done but a gluten challenge can be difficult after going gluten free.  You need to be on gluten for about 4 weeks prior to an endoscopy.  Here's some information from the University of Chicago's celiac website and the American GI org about testing: