Jump to content
Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease Read more... ×
  • Sign Up
2 2
Victoria1234

Emedicine health .com

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Just read this on their site about  celiac.... I'm having brain fog right now! Is this true or not?

 

Watch out for the following phrases. They could mean that a product contains gluten:

  • "Modified food starch."
  • "Hydrolyzed vegetable protein."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
49 minutes ago, Victoria1234 said:

Just read this on their site about  celiac.... I'm having brain fog right now! Is this true or not?

 

Watch out for the following phrases. They could mean that a product contains gluten:

  • "Modified food starch."
  • "Hydrolyzed vegetable protein."

Victoria1234,

I had the same questions when I started eating gluten free myself.

I was terrified of "Modified Food Starch" for the longest time.

Until I started digging into the FDA "food code".  there is such a thing.

At least in the US Modified Starch is Corn based unless it has a adjective modifying it like "tapioca starch" etc.

This Livsestrong article summarizes it well.

http://www.livestrong.com/article/446555-is-food-starch-gluten-free/

Here is the link to the FDA compliance guidance for Starches.

https://www.fda.gov/ICECI/ComplianceManuals/CompliancePolicyGuidanceManual/ucm074605.htm

The same goes for Vegetable Proteins.

This article on glutenfreeliving summarizes it well.

https://www.glutenfreeliving.com/gluten-free-foods/ingredients/top-10-ingredients-you-really-dont-need-to-worry-about/

see point 6. about HVP.

quoting

6. Hydrolyzed Vegetable protein (HVP) and Hydrolyzed Plant Protein (HPP)

Why they’re on worry lists: Partially because they always have been, despite the fact that they did not belong there in the first place.

"Why you don’t have to worry: You won’t even find these phrases on ingredient lists! Roughly 20 years ago, the FDA said processors have to define the “vegetable” or “plant” in their ingredients. So you will read hydrolyzed wheat protein and know you have to avoid the item, or hydrolyzed soy protein, and know the item is safe as long as it is free of any gluten-containing ingredients.

Why that’s a good thing: The shorter the list of things you worry about, the easier the gluten-free diet becomes."

I hope this is helpful.

posterboy,

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
30 minutes ago, Posterboy said:

Victoria1234,

I had the same questions when I started eating gluten free myself.

I was terrified of "Modified Food Starch" for the longest time.

Until I started digging into the FDA "food code".  there is such a thing.

At least in the US Modified Starch is Corn based unless it has a adjective modifying it like "tapioca starch" etc.

This Livsestrong article summarizes it well.

http://www.livestrong.com/article/446555-is-food-starch-gluten-free/

Here is the link to the FDA compliance guidance for Starches.

https://www.fda.gov/ICECI/ComplianceManuals/CompliancePolicyGuidanceManual/ucm074605.htm

The same goes for Vegetable Proteins.

This article on glutenfreeliving summarizes it well.

https://www.glutenfreeliving.com/gluten-free-foods/ingredients/top-10-ingredients-you-really-dont-need-to-worry-about/

see point 6. about HVP.

quoting

6. Hydrolyzed Vegetable protein (HVP) and Hydrolyzed Plant Protein (HPP)

Why they’re on worry lists: Partially because they always have been, despite the fact that they did not belong there in the first place.

"Why you don’t have to worry: You won’t even find these phrases on ingredient lists! Roughly 20 years ago, the FDA said processors have to define the “vegetable” or “plant” in their ingredients. So you will read hydrolyzed wheat protein and know you have to avoid the item, or hydrolyzed soy protein, and know the item is safe as long as it is free of any gluten-containing ingredients.

Why that’s a good thing: The shorter the list of things you worry about, the easier the gluten-free diet becomes."

I hope this is helpful.

posterboy,

 

Thank you! I appreciate it very much. Stupid "medical" site had me all confused and worried.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Once I saw " modified food starch ( wheat).  "    But it has to

 say " wheat"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have you noticed that some sites fail to post a date?  it drives me crazy!  

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 hours ago, cyclinglady said:

Have you noticed that some sites fail to post a date?  it drives me crazy!  

 

One of my biggest pet peeves!!!! They used to be much worse about it, so it's getting better but there are still plenty who don't post the date.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's probably super old, or just a repost of something old.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
2 2

×