• Join Our Community!

Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

flampton

How Long From First Visit To Actual Biopsy?

Rate this topic

Hey for all those that have been biopsied,

How long did it take from initial visit to your gastroenterologist to the actual day of the biopsy?

I have been consuming a lot of gluten to try and get a diagnosis, but if the GI doc schedules me for like april or something, I couldn't even come close to eating this way that long. Gluten messes with my GI a bit, but I seem to have more of the non classical symptoms such as depression, anxiety and wicked brain fog. Problem is I'm a scientist so continuing to eat this way messes with my job.

Also when you finally got to see a gastroenterologist did you have to start jumping through hoops again to get them to test you? Do I have to convince yet another doctor to precede with the testing? I'm relatively good at it since I can quote reviews and the primary literature back at the doctor but a lot of my docs seem to have gotten upset when I have clearly showed them(pleasantly) that their present knowledge was lacking. An unhappy doctor certainly doesn't breed a happy patient.

Every day I wonder if a diagnosis is even worth it. I think as of right now it would help psychologically with staying on the diet and dealing with the myriad of social situations that revolve around the staff of pain. Yet I would love to stop eating gluten today.

Eric

Hi Eric--It was on my inital visit to the GI that I got scheduled for my biopsy. I then had to wait 1 month--I also had a colonoscopy the same day, so maybe that's why the longer wait. Good luck at the Dr.--