Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


0
VydorScope

L'il Critters Gummy Vites!

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

:D

Thanks for looking Vincent.. they look great except they have non fat milk in them..

I'm about to order from www.kirkmanlabs.com soon. I was gonna order their multi-vitamins too, but will do the gummi vites now!

Ack! Sorry! :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks for looking Vincent.. they look great except they have non fat milk in them..

I'm about to order from www.kirkmanlabs.com soon. I was gonna order their multi-vitamins too, but will do the gummi vites now!

You might want to give Hero Nutritionals a call and confirm with them. They have a vegetarian calcium with vitamin D supplement that might be worth checking into. My dd took it along with their sour gummies for a while. Here's the website...

http://www.yummibears.com/modules.php?op=m...&artid=3&page=1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The L'ilCritter calcium + D are no longer gluten free. The bottle states that they are gluten free, but they are not. I had an allergic reaction immediately after consuming the gummies. I checked the label and it has 'natural flavors' which we all know that is always dangerous for those that are allergic. They are processed in a facility with products that contain eggs, fish, shellfish, soy and tree nuts. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, pinkteaninja said:

The L'ilCritter calcium + D are no longer gluten free. The bottle states that they are gluten free, but they are not. I had an allergic reaction immediately after consuming the gummies. I checked the label and it has 'natural flavors' which we all know that is always dangerous for those that are allergic. They are processed in a facility with products that contain eggs, fish, shellfish, soy and tree nuts. 

With the new gluten-free labeling laws, this company has probably chosen to remove the gluten free statement from their gummies because they do not test for gluten even though they might not put gluten in their product at all.  They also probably added the allergy statements concerning the facility for the same reason (new labeling laws).   (I do not have the product in front of me.)    I worry more about shared lines and not a shared facility.  I'll be going to my parent's house for a visit and will be preparing food in a "shared" kitchen.  I just need to follow good preparation procedures to prevent cross contamination (use toaster bags, use lots of paper towels, squeeze bottles of condiments, etc)  

I would suggest for your own piece of mind, that you stick to certified gluten free supplements.  I think you'll feel safer!  

Have you been diagnosed with celiac disease or NCGI?  Because celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder and not an allergy.  

I wish you well.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cyclinglady, I'm  not sure I was clear. They do say "gluten free" but they have gluten. I have seen many products do this. And you are right, certified gluten free is the way to go, but not everything is certified so I took a chance on the vitamins. They use to not cause a reaction, and this last time I had a reaction.

I understand that using the same kitchen is not the same thing as using the same line, but I have yet to see a label state that they use or don't use the same line. All labels that I have seen state that the item was produced in a facility that produces items thay may contain wheat.

I was diagnosed with Celiac, and I'm not sure what the proper vocabulary for a 'reaction' to gluten would be.

I come to this forum because when I'm not sure if an item caused a reaction I can find out from others if they too had a reaction, and I can narrow down what food might have caused a reaction. My experience has been that even if something has a gluten free label it turns out not to be gluten free. 

Thank you and I wish you well too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
19 hours ago, pinkteaninja said:

They do say "gluten free" but they have gluten. I

I come to this forum because when I'm not sure if an item caused a reaction I can find out from others if they too had a reaction, and I can narrow down what food might have caused a reaction. My experience has been that even if something has a gluten free label it turns out not to be gluten free. 

 

If ti says gluten free, I would assume it is.  If you had a reaction to it, there are a few things that could be an issue. May have been something else you are. Perhaps you CC'ed with when getting it out. Maybe there was CC at the factory.  If you suspect they are not gluten-free, you can get test strips for them.  

 

Your reaction, being you have Celiac, was not an allergic reaction. It's an autoimmune one, they are not the same thing and don't work the same way.  I know many people who are gluten-free and who have actual allergies and many use these vitamins with no issue.  Again, if you suspect they are the causes I would suggest testing them yourself or at a lab or bring it to the attention of the FDA.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0