Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
0
JM12

Do you drink any liquor straight? Favorite alcohol?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I used to love to sip whiskey straight. Even after going gluten-free, I was in denial that whiskey affected me (because tons of things online say that the distillation "removes" gluten) but I had to accept the reality that whiskey definitely gave me gluten reactions and I cut it out.

I love Tito's, but not for drinking straight. It's a little hard for me to find 100% gluten-free liquors because a google search usually brings up grain distilled liquors. I know there are a good amount of rum options like Captain Morgan and Bacardi. I didn't use to be a big rum person but maybe I'll become one now 😂. I wouldn't say those are sipping alcohols though. I'm cool with Tequila, but for mixed drinks. Maybe the "sipping liquor straight" life just isn't for me anymore...

Oh well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


You're not alone. I can't have gluten grain based distilled alcohol either. While many folks with celiac are fine with them there is a small number of us that can't tolerate.


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The FDA's new ruling makes it so that distilled spirits, no matter their source, can be labelled "gluten-free." The same is true for distilled vinegar:

https://www.thespiritsbusiness.com/2020/08/fda-ruling-allows-gluten-free-labelling-on-spirits/ 


Scott Adams

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Founder Celiac.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 minutes ago, Scott Adams said:

The FDA's new ruling makes it so that distilled spirits, no matter their source, can be labelled "gluten-free." The same is true for distilled vinegar:

https://www.thespiritsbusiness.com/2020/08/fda-ruling-allows-gluten-free-labelling-on-spirits/ 

Oh no! That's not really good news for those of us that do indeed react to grain distilled liquor. But it's not a hard thing for those who are sensitive to research anyway and make smart decisions with anyway.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My experience in running this site for 25 years is that there are tons of things that people with celiac disease might also react to that are gluten-free, and this is no good reason to not be able to label them as gluten-free.


Scott Adams

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Founder Celiac.com

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 I didn't use to be a big rum person but maybe I'll become one now 😂

+++++++++++++++++++

I used to get my "buzz" from Hagen Dazs Rum Raisin ice cream (which has real rum in it).😉  But I have trouble digesting most dairy now, so I'm skipping it while my gut heals....  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 8/18/2020 at 4:53 PM, JM12 said:

Oh no! That's not really good news for those of us that do indeed react to grain distilled liquor. But it's not a hard thing for those who are sensitive to research anyway and make smart decisions with anyway.

 

The FDA finally is making a scientifically proven statement that distilled alcoholic beverages are gluten-free because the distillation process does not allow for gluten to get into the final product. If some people react to the beverages it is not the gluten, but something else. Recent research shows that many people who think that they are reacting to gluten are in fact reacting to complex sugars that are present in gluten containing products. This would make sense why some react to gluten-free distilled liquors.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
0