Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

sore joints

Need Clarification

O.K. probably another stupid question but I'm still just not getting it! Since I'm still waiting to see a GI (14 mth wait) I can't ask anyone else. Everyone on this board has been so helpful. Sorry though for another question.

If someone is gluten sensitive and does NOT stay off of gluten, could they potentially become celiac due to damage being done to the small intestine? Is being gluten sensitive as serious as being celiac?

Any responses are greatly appreciated.

Alison

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I'm not an expert in this area but some who ARE experts believe that gluten sensitivity or intolerance is just an early stage of celiac. However, I don't think anyone has absolute proof that everybody who is gluten sensitive goes on to celiac.

richard

My GI said the same thing. It's not always the case... but he said that in many instances, going on a gluten free diet after realizing gluten sensitivity, can prevent Celiac if one has the genes and predisposition.

Jayhawkmom -

Mom of three....

Jay - 11

Bean - 8

Ian - 3

Right now, I don't think that we know enough about gluten yet. I think for *some* people, it could be the case (as in the case of those who have the genes). For others, I do think it can be entirely separate.

The other thing to think about is that sometimes people who don't think that they have Celiac, but think they are gluten sensitive, are actually Celiacs, but the testing did not catch it. (or, it could be the other way: they could be Celiac and didn't get tested).

As you can see, there are many possibilities out there. Its hard to say if it is one continuous spectrum, two specific problems, or both.