This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Stories That Make You Smile

Lissa

Lissa Apprentice

I'm an eleven grade student, and a few weeks ago, my teacher nearly made me cry. You see, at the beginning of the year, my religion teacher told us that she hates students that miss a lot of school. Last year, I missed close to 40 days of school due to gluten reactions, and because I'd only discovered my gluten issues at the end of May, I wasn't sure how often I would be glutened accidently, and therefore, how much I'd be absent this year. I was also determined not to let my gluten issues rule my life, and decided not to inform my teachers about my gluten intolerance. But since my religion teacher hates people who miss a ton of school, I felt like I had to explain about my gluten intolerance, and how it might affect my attendence. She was very sweet and understanding about it, and I felt better after informing her.