Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

FreyaUSA

Maltose?

Recommended Posts

Is maltose gluten-free? This is what I was able to find:

Also called malt sugar, this syrup, which has been produced in China since the second century BC, is the Chinese equivalent of corn syrup or liquid glucose. The raw ingredient is cereal starch which is converted to sugar by the process of malting.

The starch may be from wheat, rice, barley or other grains. The container in my pantry lists its contents as rice, malt and water. It is very thick, sticky and difficult to spoon out, so use a sturdy metal spoon.

I bought some sesame peanut candy at an Asian market. It's ingredients are: sesame, peanuts, maltose, citric acid and water. Dare I eat any?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

FreyUSA--i wouldnt trust it---my sister tells me that if it says malt--dont eat it--she is a celiac and a dietician--your discription states the starch may be from wheat, rice, barley, or other grains--that in itself would make me say---nope, cant have this--it's up to you, but i wouldnt touch it-- :) deb

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maltose, according to the CSA's "bible" is: malt sugar dervived from malt extract. Used as a nutrient, sweetener, culture media, and a stabilizer especially in the brewing industry.

This means it contains the gluten which celiacs should not eat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Drat. :angry: I gave a couple pieces to others when I bought it, but none of us with gluten problems (they said it was delicious <_<.) I guess the rest goes in the trash. *sniff*

Same as me: I just bought a chinese medecine that has maltose in it, just found out about it...thanks to this post, I can relate my skin itchiness to that table spoon I had 20 minutes ago. Yep, the rest goes in the trash...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

From the Canadian Celiac Association list of food ingredients:

MALTOSE ... ALLOWED: A simple sugar obtained by enzymatic breakdown of starch (potato, rice, barley or wheat). Although barley or wheat may be used in the production of maltose, the manufacturing process renders maltose gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Initially I shied away too because of the malt but when I looked them up and realized they were sugars I tried them and have had no problem. I wouod have definately felt it if they were problematic.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...