This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How Do You Work With A Restaurant?

Guest hightop girl

Guest hightop girl

I think I might lose it completely if I couldn't ask questions on this forum. I am new to this and get kind of embarrassed about asking for special treatment. Last night my husband, a friend and I went to our favorite mexican restaurant in Colorado Springs. I usually check on line or call to see if they have a gluten free menu, but this was spur of the moment. When we got there, I asked our server if they had a gluten free menu. This alone kind of bugs me, but I am getting over it. She looked confused and said no. So I looked at the menu and ordered a fajita salad. I specifically ordered it because it was the only salad that did not come in a flour tortilla bowl. Of course, when it came it was in a flour tortilla shell. I got the menu, checked again, and now the owner asked if there was a problem. I explained why I had that salad, and her response was "oh, we can't keep track of which salad has the bowl and which doesn't, but we'll bring you a new one." They did, but then I worried that I had made a scene, and that I would end up glutened for the 3rd time in 3 weeks. I didn't end up glutened, thank goodness. How do you all deal with going to a restaurant for the first time. How do order so you don't have to send your food back? I felt like Sally in When Harry Met Sally.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Guest j_mommy