This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

What's Wrong With Me? Please Help...

foodiepeep

foodiepeep Newbie

Hi all. My name is Laura, I'm 24 years old and I'm a newbie to the board. Although I'm not formally diagnosed with Celiac Disease, I began having symptoms of gluten intolerance about a year and a half ago. I am highly addicted to carbohydrates and I noticed that after consuming certain types of these food items, I tend to have extreme fatigue, joint pain, fever, dumping syndrome, stomach upset, ect. Those symptoms are coupled with the fact that my weight has continually dropped to an anorexic level with no real explanation. I now struggle with all of this on a daily basis and am in great need of relief.

My current issue (after recently having taken it upon myself to begin a trial period of gluten free eating in an attempt to control my illness) is that each day so far immediately after I consume my new glutenless bread, I experience a bout of dumping syndrome. Likewise, I constantly experience severe food cravings for things like rice and peanut butter that keep me awake all night. (Possible protein/vitamin deficiency?) This being the case, I was wondering whether that may be a result of my body trying to adjust itself to the new diet or if it may be something of a concern.

Allow me to mention that prior to assuming my celiac disease, I had had a history of gastric difficulties, resulting in my gallbladder having been removed. I have since suffered from the aforementioned symptoms, though none of the doctors I have gone to can seem to figure out what may be ailing me other than a malfunctioning thyroid.