This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How Accurate Is An Upper Endoscopy?

HelpinOhio

HelpinOhio Explorer

How accurate is an upper endoscopy in diagnosing Celiac Disease?

Im a 18 year old male, my mom was diagnosed with Celiac Disease through an upper endoscopy about 30 years ago.

Ive been eating gluten regularly for about 8 months now, and about 6 weeks ago I added 2-4 more pieces of bread per day. Im scheduled to have an upper endoscopy in about 2 weeks. I had the blood tests/labs for Celiac Disease done about 2 weeks ago and got the results back yesterday, which supposedly came back negative. This wasnt much of a surprise because it is most likely false negative. I asked for a copy of my results just in case.

About how accurate would the upper endoscopy be for me?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

SGWhiskers Collaborator

Since you have been eating gluten, if you have Celiac, the endoscopy will pick it up. (Assuming they take enough samples and the pathologist knows what he/she is doing). Since your blood tests were negative, there is a pretty good chance that any symptoms you have are caused by another disease. Continuing with the endoscopy will allow the docs to look for other diseases as well. If you have GI symptoms and with a family history of autoimmune disease, you may want to look into Crohn's and Colitis if your endoscopy comes back negative.

good luck

krystal Rookie