BusyBof3

Should I Use Mixees Or Buy Individual Items?

Rate this topic

I am new to the gluten free diet and am trying to decide on the most economical way to make pizza crust, breads and muffins. Should I purchase mixes or the indivudual ingrediants? If I purcahse a bread or muffin mix can I alter it with bananas or bluberries? Will I need anything extra with these mixes?

Thanks for the help.

I think it is probably easiest at first to buy some of the mixes and find out what kinds of flour combinations you like or (as for some of us) are tolerant of. Bob's Red Mill makes a couple of bread mixes, a pizza crust mix, etc. Lots of folks swear by Pamelas mixes. Generally all you have to add are oil/butter/shortening, eggs, water/milk, sweetening. I went mad at first and bought all different kinds of flours that I didn't know what to do with and, it turns out now, I cannot have potato starch or flour. As you build up your recipe file of things that sound good and find out what kind of flours you like, then is the time to branch out and do the from-scratch stuff, IMHO. There are oodles of great recipes here and elsewhere on the net but don't be in a rush, get a feel for gluten-free flours first before you start broadening your horizons, would be my best advice.