This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Test Results/symptoms?

Carin3

Carin3 Rookie

Hi! Thanks for reading this. This is my first time on here. I am 34 years old and have 3 young children(3,4 and 6). I have had iron deficiency anemia for years. Iron pills don't really help. I finally went to a hematologist who started me on prescription iron and sent me for a GI consult. He did a endoscopy and colonoscopy. I was told everything looked fine. Luckily I went back in for the follow up and the biopsy for the endoscopy said findings suggestive of Type 2 celiac disease. I was surprised b/c this had never been mentioned before. The GI doctor said I didn't need to worry about a gluten free diet if I could control my anemia with iron pills and he sent me off for some blood test related to celiac. I knew a little about Celiac and researched more once I left his office. I was surprised that some of the symptoms I have gone to the doctors about over the years could actually be related to celiac. I have frequent joint pain (rheumatoid arthritis was ruled out), tingling in my hands and feet, headaches, fatigue, frequent cankor sores, anemia etc. I do have some mild abdominal cramping and gassiness but nothing horrible. Otherwise I dont really have any other GI symptoms. So here is the catch. My blood work came back negative but remember the biopsy result said suggestive of Type 2 celiac. I rarely read about this happening and don't know what to do. My GI said he doubted it was celiac (but I don't have the highest confidence in him after the above comments) however he did send my biopsy up to Yale to be read by someone up