This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

How To Overcome?

cheesycow5

cheesycow5 Newbie

I'm 19 years old. I've had social anxiety for as long as I can remember. About five years ago, I started noticing HOCD (irrational fears about my sexuality).

Depression has been around for a long time. Fatigue comes and goes. All of these are fairly mild, though. I'm a freshman in college at OSU, and can keep up with the work for the most part. I just don't enjoy my life most of the time. I wake up many days with bad anxiety and no motivation. Many days, I can't understand the college math that comes so easily to me on other days.

Family history: My father as well as his mother have Parkinson's disease. My father has Type II Diabetes. He had a six month period of depression a few years ago. My mother died three years ago of Anaplastic Thyroid Cancer. My younger brother and my older brother are very smart and hard working, but they both use caffeine on an almost daily basis, and complain of fatigue.

Also, I was found to have a pilonidal cyst about six years ago. The doctor tested it and found multiple varieties of bacteria. The cyst was removed and drained twice, but it's still definitely there. It no longer causes any pain, but I'm sure it's not doing wonders for my immune system.

I get bumps on my fingers sometimes, as well. Very tiny bumps that cluster together, and look somewhat transparent. They go away after a couple weeks. I used to have a numbness on my left upper leg for a couple years, too.